Live 8 is announced

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
User avatar
space6oy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:29 am
Gear: vimpat, citalopram & vitamin D.
Location: stuck in ohio.
Contact:

Re: Live 8 is announced

Post by space6oy » Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:38 am

which OS are you using? (pretty sure you've told me but i can't remember...)

Shanesaw
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:44 pm
Gear: Ultranova, Minibrute, Microbrute, Spark, microKORG, microX,
Location: Long Beach, California

Re: Live 8 is announced

Post by Shanesaw » Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:45 am

OSX 10.4.11
"There was never a notion that a synthesizer would be used by itself for anything" - Robert Moog (1934-2005)

User avatar
space6oy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:29 am
Gear: vimpat, citalopram & vitamin D.
Location: stuck in ohio.
Contact:

Re: Live 8 is announced

Post by space6oy » Wed Apr 08, 2009 3:41 am

cool, good to hear it's not having issues w/ that. glad i didn't let myself jump to 10.5 w/ switching to ableton, definitely going to still be using pro tools for audio editing.

tunedLow
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 384
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Gear: Sage XP 4wt 10
Sage TXL 3wt 710
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Re: Live 8 is announced

Post by tunedLow » Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:35 pm

I put the demo on my laptop, and have only had a minute to play with it, but I can tell the little things like the group tracks option are going to be very nice.

The groove tool is pretty cool, but when I first heard of the ability to extract grooves I misunderstood - I was thinking you it would look at the transients and map that to a midi clip, and from there you could apply whatever samples you wanted the midi notes to hit.

Shanesaw
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:44 pm
Gear: Ultranova, Minibrute, Microbrute, Spark, microKORG, microX,
Location: Long Beach, California

Re: Live 8 is announced

Post by Shanesaw » Thu Apr 09, 2009 1:12 am

don't forget to play with the vocoder! It does the w.o.p.r. (joshua) voice in "War Games" really well...
"There was never a notion that a synthesizer would be used by itself for anything" - Robert Moog (1934-2005)

User avatar
space6oy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:29 am
Gear: vimpat, citalopram & vitamin D.
Location: stuck in ohio.
Contact:

Re: Live 8 is announced

Post by space6oy » Thu Apr 09, 2009 4:20 am

hey does anyone know if there's a command in ableton to simultaneously record enable all tracks w/ one click? once again pretty annoying having to go through command/cntrl clicking every one of them.

Shanesaw
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:44 pm
Gear: Ultranova, Minibrute, Microbrute, Spark, microKORG, microX,
Location: Long Beach, California

Re: Live 8 is announced

Post by Shanesaw » Thu Apr 09, 2009 5:56 am

It's not a command but could be a useful work-around. Map each arm button to a controller's single pad, button, or key. I just tried it with the MPD32, mapped a bunch of track's arms to pad 1.

also, hitting pad 1 again disarms them.
"There was never a notion that a synthesizer would be used by itself for anything" - Robert Moog (1934-2005)

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Live 8 is announced

Post by Stab Frenzy » Thu Apr 09, 2009 6:03 am

space6oy wrote:hey does anyone know if there's a command in ableton to simultaneously record enable all tracks w/ one click? once again pretty annoying having to go through command/cntrl clicking every one of them.
Go to preferences and deselect the option that makes it default to only having one track armed unless you command click them, then you can just option click and arm all of them. (IIRC)

Post Reply