Suggest a VST host, ala "Virtual Rack"?

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
Post Reply
synthmax
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:36 am
Gear: PEK, Voyager, JP-8080, Sirius, Radias, Lead 2, X-Station25, KS-Rack, Z1, MPC4000

Suggest a VST host, ala "Virtual Rack"?

Post by synthmax » Thu Apr 02, 2009 4:16 am

Is there any decent standalone software that is like Sonar's VST rack? I'd like to be able to setup a generic virtual rack that functions similarly to a hardware rack, where a set configuration of synths is installed and configured to specific midi channels, startable with a button click. Sonar seems overkill just to get this functionality.

gcoudert
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:24 pm
Real name: Gilles
Gear: Roland Fantom X7 with Ultimate Keys expansion, Yamaha TX802, Roland JP-8080, Tascam DP-24SD.
Location: SE England

Re: Suggest a VST host, ala "Virtual Rack"?

Post by gcoudert » Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:26 am

Sonar LE is sort of 'free' and comes bundled with cheap hardware, although admittedly it won't run unless you have the said hardware connected to your computer. It has the virtual rack function you're after.

Better still, Brainspawn's Forte 2.0 (Performer Edition) will 'only' set you back US$150. It is a fully-fledged, low latency VST host used by Guy Babylon (Elton John) and Mark Kelly (Marillion). There is a trial version for download on the web site.

http://www.brainspawn.com/index.php?opt ... &Itemid=94

Gilles
GC

User avatar
stephen
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:04 pm
Gear: Laptop
House Brick
Renoise
Loomer Aspect
FM8
Location: UK

Re: Suggest a VST host, ala "Virtual Rack"?

Post by stephen » Thu Apr 02, 2009 12:19 pm

Try Cantabile http://www.cantabilesoftware.com/ There's also Cantabile Lite which is free
Stephen(2)

User avatar
scope4live
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 6:58 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV.

Re: Suggest a VST host, ala "Virtual Rack"?

Post by scope4live » Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:37 pm

I went to Bidule and haven't looked back.
Ultra flexible and allows the routing of hardware effects and rack mounted analog synths to be combined with soft synths, which I don't use, but I do use soft samplers and can combine Gigastudio, VSL & Kontakt all under the same hood.
Best thing about these guys is their fast response to emails if you get stuck, and a forum to share layouts, skins, etc.
No sense in using something where developement isn't ongoing.
Just went to a MultiCore upgrade and 64bit will be released within weeks.
But OMG you might have to break down and spend the 70 bucks, Lord Forbid...............
Jimmy V.

Scope DSP cards x 6
Lexicon PCM81/PCM91
Studio Electronics Synths
Creamware ASB B4000 w/ Pro3t Rotary

synthmax
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:36 am
Gear: PEK, Voyager, JP-8080, Sirius, Radias, Lead 2, X-Station25, KS-Rack, Z1, MPC4000

Re: Suggest a VST host, ala "Virtual Rack"?

Post by synthmax » Sun Apr 05, 2009 11:38 pm

It just occured to me that whole 64 vs 32 bit is quite an issue right now. Sonar is supposedly able to run 32 bit plugins on a 64 bit machine, though I am sceptical. I am running a 64 bit quad core Vista machine, and the host would have to support that. I am at the point where I am thinking of getting an slightly older secondary PC with 32 bit XP just to run plugins with fewer issues.

On a different thought, I was just checking out the Muse Research Receptor. It's basically a PC that runs Linux with a Windows emulator. A much more expensive solution, but the concept is solid. Anyone try this?

gcoudert
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:24 pm
Real name: Gilles
Gear: Roland Fantom X7 with Ultimate Keys expansion, Yamaha TX802, Roland JP-8080, Tascam DP-24SD.
Location: SE England

Re: Suggest a VST host, ala "Virtual Rack"?

Post by gcoudert » Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:08 pm

synthmax wrote:I am at the point where I am thinking of getting an slightly older secondary PC with 32 bit XP just to run plugins with fewer issues.
Funny you should mention this. I'm having several issues with my laptop, which runs Vista Basic 32-bit, timing being the worst example. I was thinking of downgrading to XP. Would that help? I tried optimising Vista by tuning off certain applications on startup as per the instructions given on a web site recommended by a forum member but that didn't help. 'm beginning to think Vista isn't appropriate for music purposes at all.
GC

SandyT
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 4:57 pm
Gear: Waldorf micro Q (75 Voice), Red Federation bpm fx pro, Ensoniq MR Rack (World, Pop and Piano expansion), NI Kore 2, NI Komplete 5

Re: Suggest a VST host, ala "Virtual Rack"?

Post by SandyT » Wed Apr 08, 2009 5:04 pm

This may sound out of whack as I am new to Digital music production, but how about using Kore 2by NI?
I recently purchased NI's Kore2 and Komplete 5. I also have other vsti's. I often just fire up Kore2 standalone, and create my "multi" setups with fx routings from other plugins and not necessarily NI instruments - the Kore2 controller is a bonus - you can assign any parameter on on your vsti to any controller (of course you can buy the software version as well)

synthmax
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 1:36 am
Gear: PEK, Voyager, JP-8080, Sirius, Radias, Lead 2, X-Station25, KS-Rack, Z1, MPC4000

Re: Suggest a VST host, ala "Virtual Rack"?

Post by synthmax » Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:44 pm

HI noob. In the case of a VST host, NI Kore basically accomplishes that. However, I don't think you can add other random VSTs and VST effects into their setup to create a sort of virtual rack though. Regardless, NI Komplete is very nice, IMO.

Post Reply