Does such a sequencer exist?

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
User avatar
krushing
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:21 am
Real name: Petteri
Gear: Doepfer Dark Energy, Nord Lead 3R, Waldorf MicroQ, Acidlab Bassline 3, Roland TR-606
Band: Salaneuvosto
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Post by krushing » Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:49 am

Regarding the original question, there's a sort of step record mode in Live as well - I think it came along only in v8, though, and it's not quite as intuitive as it could be (it doesn't auto-advance), but then again it allows for completely keyboard-based note input w/o having to touch the mouse.

User avatar
CS_TBL
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1677
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:47 pm
Gear: All "In-The-Box"
Mainly FM8
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Post by CS_TBL » Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:16 pm

arddhu: you want a tracker.

Like this one: http://www.nashnet.co.uk/english/revisit/
"You know I love you, CS, but this is bullshit." (Automatic Gainsay)
s: VSL/FM8/EWQL/LASS h: DX7/FS1r/VL70/SY77/SN2r/JD800/JD990/XV88/Emu6400/Poly61/Amek35:12:2/genelec1030 r: Violin/AltoSax/TinWhistle c: i7-4770/RAM32GB/SSD
FM8 vids

Arddhu
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:02 pm

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Post by Arddhu » Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:22 pm

I just read about this yesterday. Alas I've only got v7 so it looks like that's out of the question at the moment. I'm glad to hear someone else's opinion on it, thanks.

For the time being I've just having a look at Trackers. Hmmmm, hexadecimal...

Edit: Ha! Good timing!
Last edited by Arddhu on Fri Nov 20, 2009 2:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
CS_TBL
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1677
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:47 pm
Gear: All "In-The-Box"
Mainly FM8
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Post by CS_TBL » Fri Nov 20, 2009 2:18 pm

You can see reViSiT in action here: www.youtube.com/mvsmsx
-afaik- the only reViSiT youtube videos so far..
"You know I love you, CS, but this is bullshit." (Automatic Gainsay)
s: VSL/FM8/EWQL/LASS h: DX7/FS1r/VL70/SY77/SN2r/JD800/JD990/XV88/Emu6400/Poly61/Amek35:12:2/genelec1030 r: Violin/AltoSax/TinWhistle c: i7-4770/RAM32GB/SSD
FM8 vids

Arddhu
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 2:02 pm

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Post by Arddhu » Fri Nov 20, 2009 9:27 pm

All done with Revisit? That's mighty impressive.

Thanks for the link CS_TBL, it does appear to be exactly what I was looking for.

VSE saves the day oncemore!

mute
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Post by mute » Mon Nov 23, 2009 12:41 pm

Arddhu wrote:Yeah, I know about step recording. I'm asking about something a bit more obscure and quite likely unnecessary!

I'm wanting to know if a sequencer exists that steps through the sequence as I enter notes streamlining the whole step input thing avoiding clicking around on my screen and lining up dots with a (what I find to be annoying) piano roll.

Like I said, I struggle to explain what I actually mean so I hope that's a bit clearer.

Cheers,
Sounds to me like you should be looking @ a full featured host tracker like Buzz or Renoise. Mouse use is minimalized in trackers for the very reasons/desires you state.

User avatar
loungedumore
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 638
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:25 am
Gear: iMac | iPad 2| iPad Air
Beatstep Pro | Mpx8
Volca bass, Keys ,beats
Monotribe | MS20 | SQ1
Minibrute | Midi4+
Graphite 49 | EIE
Band: Death By Media
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Post by loungedumore » Mon Nov 23, 2009 6:47 pm

CS_TBL wrote:arddhu: you want a tracker.

Like this one: http://www.nashnet.co.uk/english/revisit/
Indeed I think a tracker is the ticket . I myself stared with Scream Tracker on DOS may moons ago .
FL Studio and or Project5 would also be something to look at if you are a windows user .
Some wish to leave their mark ... I want to leave a scar .
http://soundcloud.com/death-by-media

User avatar
CS_TBL
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1677
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:47 pm
Gear: All "In-The-Box"
Mainly FM8
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Post by CS_TBL » Mon Nov 23, 2009 9:28 pm

The interesting bit about reViSiT is that layout-wise it's the continuation of Impulse Tracker, which was the continuation of Scream Tracker. Many other trackers are, in some way, more like a continuation of Fast Tracker. So, for people who have a history with either ST3 or IT, reViSiT is the next step.
"You know I love you, CS, but this is bullshit." (Automatic Gainsay)
s: VSL/FM8/EWQL/LASS h: DX7/FS1r/VL70/SY77/SN2r/JD800/JD990/XV88/Emu6400/Poly61/Amek35:12:2/genelec1030 r: Violin/AltoSax/TinWhistle c: i7-4770/RAM32GB/SSD
FM8 vids

basskitten
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 7:18 am

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Post by basskitten » Sun Nov 29, 2009 7:21 am

Arddhu wrote:I'm looking for something and to my annoyance, I find it very hard to explain or search for.

I'm after a sequencer that has the ability to step through your sequence as you enter notes. For example if you set it to 16th notes, then just enter the notes with no particular rhythm, it automatically enters them as 16ths. I'm not a huge fan of using real-time record and auto-quantize as the lag from my keyboard makes it damn annoying and tedious. I'm thinking something along those lines with fantabulous keyboard shortcuts for easily changing note lengths and adding rests would be great but I may be aiming too high.
I guess the closest thing to what I'm looking for is the MC202 sequencer or (from what I've seen on youtube) the EMS sequencer.

Any clues?
Cubase has a step record mode. You can control most of it without the mouse. I use it all the time to make 16th note sequences.

User avatar
impaler42
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 262
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 6:10 am
Real name: Shaikat
Gear: Ensoniq Fizmo, Yamaha FS1R, E-mu Ultra Proteus, Korg Wavestation SR, Waldorf Blofeld
Band: Grainshifter
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Post by impaler42 » Mon Nov 30, 2009 5:56 am

The Yamaha Rm1x has this function. Also, Im sure you could build a sequencer in Max for Live that works that way.
electronic music forever

http://www.grainshifter.com[/url]

User avatar
MarkM
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 10:26 pm
Location: Northeast Tennessee

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Post by MarkM » Tue Dec 15, 2009 4:16 am

http://www.sugar-bytes.de/content/produ ... hp?lang=en

Would this do the trick? I love it.

Post Reply