Page 1 of 2

Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 1:17 pm
by Arddhu
I'm looking for something and to my annoyance, I find it very hard to explain or search for.

I'm after a sequencer that has the ability to step through your sequence as you enter notes. For example if you set it to 16th notes, then just enter the notes with no particular rhythm, it automatically enters them as 16ths. I'm not a huge fan of using real-time record and auto-quantize as the lag from my keyboard makes it damn annoying and tedious. I'm thinking something along those lines with fantabulous keyboard shortcuts for easily changing note lengths and adding rests would be great but I may be aiming too high.
I guess the closest thing to what I'm looking for is the MC202 sequencer or (from what I've seen on youtube) the EMS sequencer.

Any clues?

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 1:30 pm
by masstronaut
This is normally called step record, or something similar. Quite a few, if not most, sequencers will do this.

Cubase will do it, EnergyXT as well. Would be surprised if most of the bigger names didn't have this feature.

You mention some hardware sequencers, is it software you are looking for?

Again, many hardware sequencers will do this. I can tell you that the Yamaha QY70 and E-MU Command Stations will, for a start...

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 1:40 pm
by Arddhu
Yeah, I know about step recording. I'm asking about something a bit more obscure and quite likely unnecessary!

I'm wanting to know if a sequencer exists that steps through the sequence as I enter notes streamlining the whole step input thing avoiding clicking around on my screen and lining up dots with a (what I find to be annoying) piano roll.

Like I said, I struggle to explain what I actually mean so I hope that's a bit clearer.

Cheers,

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 1:58 pm
by Hybrid88
Hey Arddhu,

If you don't need poly I think most analog mono sequencers like the Korg SQ-10 etc let you step through notes to "preview"/retune pitch, but they're very expensive now.

If you're ok with DIY try the Ray Wilson 16 step sequencer, It's a pretty cool analog sequencer -
http://www.musicfromouterspace.com/anal ... _2005.html


Also, have you heard of the Sequentix P3? Most people really like them though I don't know if you can "preview" notes like a traditional analog sequencer, still looks like a very cool sequencer. Have a look - http://www.sequentix.com/sq_p3.htm

PS; still got that Maplin/ETI modular?

Hybrid88 :wink:

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:03 pm
by masstronaut
But step recording means it does step through the sequence. ???

Sorry if I'm not getting yer meaning.

The QY70 for example, you set the note length and start pressing keys - it steps through the sequence in steps the size you've set. You can change the note / step size at any point. Nice and easy.

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:08 pm
by Hybrid88
masstronaut wrote:But step recording means it does step through the sequence. ???

Sorry if I'm not getting yer meaning.

The QY70 for example, you set the note length and start pressing keys - it steps through the sequence in steps the size you've set. You can change the note / step size at any point. Nice and easy.
Hey, I think he means like how an analog sequencer allows you to hear the note while going back through to edit/preview etc. So like how you can press the step button and "hear" note 1, adjust - then press step again and hear note 2, adjust and so on and so forth. And when ready, you press play and get the finished sequence.

Anyway, I suppose only mono sequencers can work like this.

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:13 pm
by Arddhu
Touché!
Yep, you're spot on, step-recording seems to be the business. Seeming as I have XT kicking around, I shall investigate!
I think as I said before, my inabilty to pinpoint exactly what I even meant, made it difficult to know what to look for!
Cheers,

Hybrid88: Yep still got the ETI back home in Launceston, though it's still in pieces at Tafe. When I get back there from Norway, one of my first quests is to get it up and running. Let me know if you know any great Taswegian synth techs!

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:21 pm
by Arddhu
Hybrid88 wrote:
masstronaut wrote:But step recording means it does step through the sequence. ???

Sorry if I'm not getting yer meaning.

The QY70 for example, you set the note length and start pressing keys - it steps through the sequence in steps the size you've set. You can change the note / step size at any point. Nice and easy.
Hey, I think he means like how an analog sequencer allows you to hear the note while going back through to edit/preview etc. So like how you can press the step button and "hear" note 1, adjust - then press step again and hear note 2, adjust and so on and so forth. And when ready, you press play and get the finished sequence.

Anyway, I suppose only mono sequencers can work like this.
Bang on. But I think from what I'm reading so far, step-recording might have to do for the time being. :)

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:36 pm
by masstronaut
It's quite possible that some sequencers have the option to play the notes that line up with the 'step' you are on.

I'd have to check.

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:50 pm
by Hybrid88
Arddhu wrote:Touché!Hybrid88: Yep still got the ETI back home in Launceston, though it's still in pieces at Tafe. When I get back there from Norway, one of my first quests is to get it up and running. Let me know if you know any great Taswegian synth techs!
Hey cool, nice to see a fellow synth lover in Launceston.

Hmm.. Synth techs - I do know one who is the authorised tech for many brands in Launceston, but I wouldn't recommend him, also he told me recently that he will only repair "warranty" items so that rules out all the vintage gear I need fixed. I did just recently find out about another tech, he doesn't specialise in music gear but it sounds like he could fix 'em ok. Can't be worse than the other guy, anyway I can't remember the name just now but I'll find out if you want.

Also Arddhu, I just wanted to ask. I had a good listen to your music and it has a fantastic clarity to it and the reverb on the ambient melodies is superb. What do you use for this? Do you record mostly hardware synths/samplers or do you get most sounds "in the box" from the computer. What reverb do you use? Also, I assume you use a computer, what software & audio interface/soundcard do you have?

Anyway, I really like your ambient stuff - sounds very nice.

Cheers,

Hybrid88.

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 3:34 pm
by Arddhu
Yeah, I got my CZ-1000 fixed by this tech up near Prospect Vale. He's an official Casio repairperson but thought my 23 year old Casio was taking the piss. He did have a few analogues floating around though and I took the 4600 to him but he wouldn't touch it in the state it was in.

Yep, all of that's recorded in the box. It's mostly done in Live using Live's own reverb and a bunch of free plugins. It's all very unfancy, just my computer's inbuilt soundcard.
When I'm back in Oz I'm going to work towards a wee bit more hardware integration. :)

Cheers,

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:19 pm
by schmidtc
My frustration with hardware sequencers is the opposite of this. All step sequencers shift to the 16th. If I record a sequence on my monomachine with a nice organic groove, it, cough, "perfects" it.

A step sequencer that would have the ability to turn this locking to the step business on and off for different patterns and tracks, is something I'd freak out over. I compose my sequences in Live, but I hate performing with the laptop. Dropping these sequences into a hardware sequencer, with the ability to tap sequence for a dance floor would seriously enhance my creativity flow.

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:39 pm
by diezdiazgiant
schmidtc wrote:My frustration with hardware sequencers is the opposite of this. All step sequencers shift to the 16th. If I record a sequence on my monomachine with a nice organic groove, it, cough, "perfects" it.

A step sequencer that would have the ability to turn this locking to the step business on and off for different patterns and tracks, is something I'd freak out over. I compose my sequences in Live, but I hate performing with the laptop. Dropping these sequences into a hardware sequencer, with the ability to tap sequence for a dance floor would seriously enhance my creativity flow.


Do you mean like round robin triggering? Press a key and it automatically goes to the next step in your sequence?
If that's what you're refering too you should try resampling your sequences cut them into the most relevant time division and you can get a sampler with round robin triggering, or spread the slices out on a keyboard. If you use a good arpeggiator like the one in ableton you can make step sequencer of sorts that's able to do all sorts of fun stuff live spreading the slices across a key range - tempo changes, change direction, velocity, change duration, if you layout things right you can set up controls to change pitch of the steps and keep it on scale.

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:58 pm
by schmidtc
You're right, I could change the clock divisions to get a higher resolution in the sequence in live, and then record it in sync into a sequencer. Then you'd just run the sequencer track at 2x speed for half an ableton clock division, 4x speed for 1/4 ableton clock division etc. Is this what you mean diez?

Re: Does such a sequencer exist?

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:14 pm
by diezdiazgiant
Oop it seems we were talking about different things, I misunderstood what you were saying is that you wanted something that would allow you to alter sequences live in more dynamic way
I didn't realize the problem was resolution