Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
skweeegor
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Ontario

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by skweeegor » Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:35 am

Hey, it works! Awesome :D

VST version works as well.

Just a couple things:

Bender Range & HPF Cutoff go from 0-127, however on the Alpha Juno the bender range goes from 0 - 12 and the HPF cutoff goes from 0 - 3.

Also, I think the fact that the MIDI channel selection goes from 0-15 rather than 1-16 creates some confusion.

So let's say the Alpha Juno is set to receive on midi channel 5. This corresponds to midi channel 4 in the alpha juno editor.

So in this example, when the editor is set to transmit on midi channel 4, it sends the slider data to midi channel 5 on the juno, which is right since it starts at "0" in the editor.

However at the midi input, when the editor is set to transmit to midi channel 4, it sends the note data to midi channel 4 on the juno.

So basically, if I want to use another keyboard to trigger the Juno, I have to set the MIDI channel in the editor to "5" since only then will it be sent to channel 5 on the Juno, and if I want to use the sliders to edit the Juno, I have to set the editor to channel "4" since that will be sent to channel 5...which means I can't use another keyboard to trigger the Juno & edit the parameters at the same time.

So:

Midi Channel in ctrlr editor = 4
Sliders send data on channel = 5
Midi input sends data on channel = 4

I hope I'm explaining it well enough. Let me know if that's too confusing.

And finally, does the sequencer work? Can't figure out how to start it.

Thanks a ton man, this editor is schweeet.

User avatar
atom
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:38 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by atom » Mon Jan 04, 2010 9:59 am

sequencer does not work, i completly forgot about it :) will do that asap,

theh midi channel was s simplification for me, i'll fix thhat to be 1-16 (internaly messages have midi channel 0-15 that's why the slider is this way, it was simpler, but i understand thhe confusion, will fix that)

thhe slider ranges will be fixed also.
----------------
http://ctrlr.org
----------------

skweeegor
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Ontario

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by skweeegor » Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:07 am

Thanks!

I've been using the last version you posted for the past few hours and it's great. I see the VST sends MIDI CC so I can automate parameters in Ableton (which doesn't support recording/sending sysex afaik) - awesome! Being able to save and recall patches is also a plus. Great work - haven't had this much fun programming the Juno in a long time.

User avatar
atom
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:38 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by atom » Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:58 am

just posted new version of all win32 controllers with fixed midi channel and some other issues when saving programs.
i'll do thhe sequencer stuff today i hope and finish the preset manager (renaming, removing, exporting importing).

check out thhe randomizer modulator i think it might be a useful tool.
----------------
http://ctrlr.org
----------------

skweeegor
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Ontario

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by skweeegor » Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:24 pm

Tried out the randomizer, cool function. One bug I noticed - If the randomize amount is less than 100% and Chorus Switch parameter is randomized, the program crashes.

Also, the midi channels go from 1-16 now as you said, but I still get the same problem as before. I'm playing the juno with a midi keyboard which I've selected as the midi input in the audio options page. It seems to be transmitting one channel lower than what's selected in the preferences page. So if I want the midi input to transmit on channel 5 to my juno, I have to now select channel 6 in the editor preferences. This means I can't use the midi keyboard AND edit the sliders with the editor because they're going to different channels. I have the Juno's omni on right now as a workaround.

User avatar
atom
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:38 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by atom » Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:03 pm

i fixed the randomizer bug, i'll look at the midi channel issue when i'm at home, i don't have a midi keyboard here and i have to check how juce reacts to external midi events nad how it reacts to events from the onscreen keyboard. i'll fix it asap.
----------------
http://ctrlr.org
----------------

User avatar
atom
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:38 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by atom » Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:00 pm

i think i fixed the midi channel issue, give the new version a whirl when you can (all win32 controllers updated).
----------------
http://ctrlr.org
----------------

skweeegor
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Ontario

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by skweeegor » Tue Jan 05, 2010 1:30 am

Yup, it's fixed!

User avatar
atom
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:38 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by atom » Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:18 pm

There was a serious threading buf witch i fixed, so please re-download the binaries (i'll add some check-for-updates feature later).

Could someone tell me what platform (win32/win64/osx)/host/daw you are using and how is it working ? i just tested this on win7 x65 with ableton and it does not work properly, only on load but when re-loading the project it doesn't (weird stuff).
----------------
http://ctrlr.org
----------------

skweeegor
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Ontario

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by skweeegor » Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:58 am

Windows 7 x64, Ableton Live 8

I just tried re-loading a project and it told me that it couldn't find the plug-in. I'm guessing you're getting the same thing.

User avatar
atom
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:38 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by atom » Wed Jan 06, 2010 1:27 am

yeah it's weird cause the plugin is there, i'm trying to get in touch with ableton and figure this out.
----------------
http://ctrlr.org
----------------

User avatar
atom
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:38 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by atom » Wed Jan 06, 2010 4:01 pm

I started a Mopho editor (had some spare time at work)

it has a special feature, each time you open the editor the yellow background circles are different :)

tell me what you think if it's ok i'll try to finish it.

Image
Last edited by atom on Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
----------------
http://ctrlr.org
----------------

User avatar
toad
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 7:42 pm
Location: Funland
Contact:

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by toad » Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:19 pm

Yay! Looks good so far!
Hope you'll have more spare time at work ;)

User avatar
toad
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 7:42 pm
Location: Funland
Contact:

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by toad » Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:30 pm

Oh yeah, one feature request for the Mopho editor:
is it possible to make the GUI fit on a screen with a resolution of 1024 x 600 (my acer netbook), or somehow resizable?

User avatar
atom
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:38 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Ctrlr - MIDI hardware controller for old and new gear

Post by atom » Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:22 pm

no problem, the controller is resizable and i'll enclose the editor in a viewport with vertical and horizontal scrollbars (NDS controller is already done like that)
----------------
http://ctrlr.org
----------------

Post Reply