I made a software synth

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
Post Reply
charlie656
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:46 pm

I made a software synth

Post by charlie656 » Sat Apr 24, 2010 4:00 pm

Hi all,

I am cheekily posting here to show off a flash software sythesizer that I have created.

You can view it here. http://www.blergo.com/games/play/blergo-beats

Nothing too serious, but it does dynamically calculate and feed 32bit samples to your sound card at 44.1khz. The melody notes are pure sine waves that decay linearly and the bass notes each comprise of 2 square waves an octave apart. As a musician/programmer i've wanted to get down to coding at the sample level ( outside of C ) and the new features in flash player 10 have let me do this.

The interesting feature I think is that you can share your session with your friend and see where their mouse is as you both update the grids.

Let me know if you like it or if you manage to get a peer to peer session working!

Thanks

Graeme

User avatar
stevebirss
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 8:32 pm
Gear: G5 Powermac
Cubase 4
Korg Legacy
EW Bosendorfer 290
SS Atmosphere
NI Komplete
uTonic
Moog LP Stage
Prophet 600
Rhodes 73 Mk I
Yamaha CP70
Band: Stars From Streetlights
Location: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: I made a software synth

Post by stevebirss » Sat Apr 24, 2010 6:16 pm

That was totally fun!! Simple, but fun.
2 suggestions if I may... Make a way to save the file if possible, and 2 make a way to change tempo, or key.
But that was a cool idea nonetheless, thanks for that!

User avatar
xenomorph313
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 8:09 pm
Gear: | ESQ-1 | TG-33 | CS1x | micron | TR-606 | MC-50 | ES-1 | RY-8 | SU-10 | SYB-3 |

effects:
| PS-2 | | Smashup |
Location: Michigan

Re: I made a software synth

Post by xenomorph313 » Sun Apr 25, 2010 3:05 am

Nice work! I am into flash and desperately would like to know how to create my own softsynth as well. Was that written in Actionscript 2.0 or 3.0? Keep it up!

Holy.....I hope theres a tutorial on creating such a program somewhere.....
For Trade: |Ensoniq ESQ-1|Yamaha CS1-x|Alesis Micron|

User avatar
space6oy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5401
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:29 am
Gear: vimpat, citalopram & vitamin D.
Location: stuck in ohio.
Contact:

Re: I made a software synth

Post by space6oy » Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:45 pm

stupid pop tarts video ad before it's annoying as h**l... but the ap's pretty neat.
edit: ok actually it's an awesome little ap, great subtle background noise. kinda reminds me of tenori-on.

the_noodlemeister
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 7:02 pm
Gear: Digidesign 002 rack, JP8000, jx3p, novation ks rack, protools le8, predator

Re: I made a software synth

Post by the_noodlemeister » Tue May 04, 2010 9:58 pm

fair play to you mate. Simple, as you say, and fun. Had a great time messing with it. Keep it up ;)

Belaya
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 5:39 pm

Re: I made a software synth

Post by Belaya » Mon May 10, 2010 2:25 am

nice and fun, great for clearing the head during work :)

suggestions for version 2:

- mute buttons for individual drum sounds
- some more sounds
- ability to create diferent note lengths
- ehm..more cowbell :mrgreen:

User avatar
Electroluver
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 265
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 4:54 pm
Gear: MS-20, M-500, Polysix, PAiA 4700, ROL309, C64 MSSIAH, JX8P, K2000J, SY-1010.
Band: DJ NAMELESS
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Contact:

Re: I made a software synth

Post by Electroluver » Thu May 13, 2010 5:48 pm

Really nice little app. Kinda reminds me of the Tenori, but way better and easier to use.
Honestly, the Tenori was pretty pathetic.

charlie656
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:46 pm

Re: I made a software synth

Post by charlie656 » Sat May 22, 2010 10:57 pm

Hi everyone,

Thanks for your generous replies :D

This is written in AS3 and uses the new sampledata event available in flash player 10. The sampledata event fires when your soundcard is ready to accept a new block of samples. The nuts and bolts of that can be found here http://www.kaourantin.net/2008/05/adobe ... part-2.html. To target flash player 10 you will need Flash CS4 or better or you can set up FlashDevelop with the Flex SDK ( both free but a little tricky ).

I have done some more work on this adding bank buttons so you can store patterns for each of the grids. However I haven't though of the best way to add a save function yet. I should release an update soon.

Cheers

cartesia
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:55 am
Gear: Octatrack
Bass Station 2
Band: TBA

Re: I made a software synth

Post by cartesia » Tue May 25, 2010 2:23 am

Nice work!

have you seen audiotool?
http://www.audiotool.com/

Post Reply