Windows 7?

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
User avatar
Shleed
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 302
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 8:00 pm
Real name: Ashley Dolan
Gear: Doepfer A100
MFB Synth II
Waldorf Blofeld
Korg MS20 Mini
Ensoniq EPS-16+
TT303
TX81Z
Band: Shledge
Location: Loughborough, UK

Re: Windows 7?

Post by Shleed » Tue Sep 07, 2010 12:12 am

I've the US-122L, works fine for me. Did you check for proper drivers and firmware upgrades?

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3790
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Windows 7?

Post by Ashe37 » Tue Sep 07, 2010 12:16 am

smoothcriminal wrote:I'm not sure if it's anything to do with Windows 7 or just user error, but I can't seem to get Windows7 to work with both ASIO and my Tascam interface (US122). It's either one or the other, so I can either listen to what I'm recording thru my PC speakers with high latency, or listen thru the headphone jack on my Tascam with low latency.
What are you trying to do? (I've used a US-144 under windows 7 before)

skweeegor
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Ontario

Re: Windows 7?

Post by skweeegor » Tue Sep 07, 2010 12:42 am

Is the ASIO driver not showing up as an option in your DAW or does it just not load at all? Either way, first step with these kind of problems is typically to go to the device manager, uninstall the device and check the "delete driver" box in the prompt, then download the latest ones and install 'em.

smoothcriminal
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 4:39 pm
Real name: Matt

Re: Windows 7?

Post by smoothcriminal » Tue Sep 07, 2010 12:54 am

My mistake, my problem more than likely has nothing whatsoever to do with Windows 7. I have noticed significantly lower latencies with 64-bit software on Windows 7.

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3790
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Windows 7?

Post by Ashe37 » Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:04 am

answering question via PM

User avatar
101 Force
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:57 pm
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Re: Windows 7?

Post by 101 Force » Tue Sep 07, 2010 3:21 am

Yeah, I wasn't bashing Windows 7... it's a great OS! In fact, I'm on it right now, and I recommend it for everyone... but having come from Windows XP, oh about two months ago, there were a few things I had to get used to and I mentioning those things is pretty much what the OP asked for.

32bit to 64bit wrapper? I don't know why I didn't think of that earlier...
Gear for sale here (Updated: 06/27/2011).

User avatar
sequentialsoftshock
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2413
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:57 am
Real name: Zayne
Gear: Pro~One, MS20, MPC60, Aalto, Volca Beats, Volca Keys, Beatstep, Casio MT18, BitOne (sorta), Circle, Orbit 3, K5, Stylos, Univox Hi Flier, iPad
Band: Echo & Liora
Location: Paris / Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: Windows 7?

Post by sequentialsoftshock » Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:26 am

My opinion as a consumer and user is far more important than my professional opinion. I've used both OSes (Mac OS X & various Windows) and never had more problems than I did with windows. The last stable windows version was probably XP SP 2. Vista is a mess, which is why Microsoft themselves even simply abandoned it. Windows 7 is just a wannabe OS X, so evidently they're doing something right. As for 64 bit problems, I've had a seamless transition. Maybe I don't rely on as many plugins though.
bonne chance

crofter
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 8:25 am
Gear: microkorg
KP3
Kaossilator
DS10
Mini KP
alesis Micron
Juno D
Blofeld
Xio synth.
Yamaha PSS-570
Korg Monotron
Korg Microstation
Location: weardale, UK

Re: Windows 7?

Post by crofter » Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:32 am

The only thing I've had problems with is my old version of Wavelab, this doesn't work at all, however Wavelab 7 is about to be released, time I updated anyway, as for running things as Administrator, I have UAC(user account control) turned off and have no problems installing and running anything (except Wavelab of course).I'm very pleased with Windows 7, very slick and stable.

User avatar
ford442
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 6:43 am
Real name: Noah
Band: Noah Cohn
Location: Nevada City, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 7?

Post by ford442 » Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:02 pm

i have found that Win 7 really does access disks faster - i can load cubase and other plugins/apps much faster than in XP..
Image

mute
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Windows 7?

Post by mute » Mon Sep 13, 2010 11:57 am

calling windows 7 a wannabe osx is like called osx a wanna be enlightenment. it's also poorly hidden fanboy trolling.

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3790
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Windows 7?

Post by Ashe37 » Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:40 pm

Or calling OSX a wannabe NEXT, or calling it a wannabe AmiagaOS 3.4 with the dock....

User avatar
BlackGnosis
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 524
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 12:18 pm
Real name: Stormy
Gear: See signature image.
Band: Eridani V
Location: San Angelo, TX
Contact:

Re: Windows 7?

Post by BlackGnosis » Wed Sep 15, 2010 11:18 pm

xp64 ran WAY better then win7, but one you connect a decent sound card, a majority of the processing issues go away. :roll:
Image
Ashe37 wrote:I find it funny that you're a guitar pedal snob and yet don't own a single analog synth.

skweeegor
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Ontario

Re: Windows 7?

Post by skweeegor » Thu Sep 16, 2010 3:47 am

Win 7 runs fine on a modern PC. I'm not gonna be that old dude who carries around a cell phone from 1999 because "it still makes calls, dammit!".

User avatar
metrosonus
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:35 pm
Location: Tampa Fl.
Contact:

Re: Windows 7?

Post by metrosonus » Fri Oct 29, 2010 4:29 pm

I've found it's not 100% legacy friendly...

Here's a run down I did on my website..

http://computermusicguide.com/archives/859

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3790
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Windows 7?

Post by Ashe37 » Fri Oct 29, 2010 4:41 pm

Yes, and XP wasn't 100% legacy friendly, and Win2k DEFINITELY wasn't legacy friendly, etc etc...

Post Reply