Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
pianoartist
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2014 5:55 am

Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by pianoartist » Wed Dec 31, 2014 5:58 am

I am currently looking for a way to find the original 32 DX7 sounds for use during a musical I'm doing. I am searching everywhere trying to find a way to make this work. I am willing to buy samples or to use the free Syx files I can find online if I can find a way to tell these little 4kb files how to sound in mainstage? Does anyone have advice on how to get this to work or other forums I could use to find these sounds. We are doing a musical set in the 80's that specifically wants this type of sound.

User avatar
desmond
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 812
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by desmond » Wed Dec 31, 2014 8:58 am

Well, you need a virtual DX7 instrument plugin (samples won't really do it, as a notable trademark of DX patches is how velocity sensitive and dynamic they are, which can't really be replicated easily by samples without extensive multisampling).

If you buy something like Native Instrument's FM8, then you can load the syx files into it and you have as many virtual DX7's as you want, which can load and play all the DX sounds available.

gcoudert
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:24 pm
Real name: Gilles
Gear: Roland Fantom X7 with Ultimate Keys expansion, Yamaha TX802, Roland JP-8080, Tascam DP-24SD.
Location: SE England

Re: Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by gcoudert » Wed Dec 31, 2014 10:27 am

FM7 would be even cheaper.
GC

commodorejohn
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1588
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:39 am
Real name: John
Gear: Roland JX-10/SH-09/MT-32/D-50, Yamaha DX7-II/V50/TX7/TG33/FB-01, Korg MS-20 Mini/ARP Odyssey/DW-8000/X5DR, Ensoniq SQ-80, Oberheim SEM
Location: Sacramento, CA
Contact:

Re: Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by commodorejohn » Wed Dec 31, 2014 10:51 am

There's also the TX7 desktop module - the real deal in a compact form factor, and inexpensive to boot!
Computers: Amiga 1200, DEC VAXStation 4000/60, DEC MicroPDP-11/73

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5399
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Wurlitzer Opus 1536, Model F, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by madtheory » Wed Dec 31, 2014 12:42 pm

NI FM8 does the 32 presets exactly like the original DX7. It loads sysex from all of Yamaha's FM synths. Best option for mainstage integration IMO.

db0451
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 12:06 am

Re: Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by db0451 » Wed Dec 31, 2014 1:02 pm

FM7/8 load the presets, but they don't sound "exact". Envelopes especially are not very precisely emulated. Other things are a bit different too. Close enough in a pinch, but FM7/8 are a tribute, rather than an emulation.

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5399
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Wurlitzer Opus 1536, Model F, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by madtheory » Wed Dec 31, 2014 1:18 pm

Yes it's not always exact with every patch, but I think with the presets it is.

gcoudert
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:24 pm
Real name: Gilles
Gear: Roland Fantom X7 with Ultimate Keys expansion, Yamaha TX802, Roland JP-8080, Tascam DP-24SD.
Location: SE England

Re: Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by gcoudert » Wed Dec 31, 2014 1:38 pm

I used to have a DX7, TX7 and FM7 at the same time and couldn't tell the difference.
GC

User avatar
vcs3
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 9:22 am
Gear: BitOne,DX7II, M-1000, ESQm, Procussion, NanoSynth, VL1, P2500, K5000R, FS1r, JX-3P, Ju-60,HR-16, CZ1000, RX-5,K2600S, Nord G1r, G2, XL-7, Shuthri-1
Location: Lusitania

Re: Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by vcs3 » Wed Dec 31, 2014 4:57 pm


pianoartist
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2014 5:55 am

Re: Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by pianoartist » Thu Jan 01, 2015 1:00 am

This looks very interesting. Does this work in Mainstage? Any idea of where to load that for application to recognize it?

User avatar
Big Gnome
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:14 am
Gear: E-mu Proteus 2500
Ensoniq ESQ-1
Ensoniq VFX
SCI Prelude
Waldorf Blofeld
Band: The Nondescript
Location: Oakland, CA
Contact:

Re: Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by Big Gnome » Thu Jan 01, 2015 6:02 am

Not very comfortably--Mainstage is strictly AU, so you'd need something like Blue Cat Patchwork (highly recommended regardless!) in order to host VSTs. I say FM8 is the way to go--it loads DX7 sysex, it's very CPU efficient, it has a sensible UI given the amount of parameters present in a full-featured FM synth, and it sounds awesome; I was able to distinguish it from the hardware when I had a DX5 (I also owned a DX7 for a few years before that), but the emulation really is 95% there--I personally prefer FM8's sound of the three anyway.
"Sure that's fine in practice, but what about in theory?"
Some of my c**p

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5399
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Wurlitzer Opus 1536, Model F, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by madtheory » Thu Jan 01, 2015 12:03 pm

Big Gnome wrote:Blue Cat Patchwork
Hi Big Gnome. Did you try DDMF Metaplugin? In my setup I found it to be better than Patchwork. Easier to use, more stable and cheaper.

User avatar
Big Gnome
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:14 am
Gear: E-mu Proteus 2500
Ensoniq ESQ-1
Ensoniq VFX
SCI Prelude
Waldorf Blofeld
Band: The Nondescript
Location: Oakland, CA
Contact:

Re: Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by Big Gnome » Thu Jan 01, 2015 4:44 pm

No, I hadn't heard about it--thanks for the heads up. I've found Patchwork to be quite reliable myself though. YMMV, I guess?
"Sure that's fine in practice, but what about in theory?"
Some of my c**p

analogholic
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 1:53 pm

Re: Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by analogholic » Wed Dec 30, 2015 8:44 pm

Trying to get DEXED to work with MainStage.

Downloaded the DDMF Metaplugin, but don´t understand how to get it work together?

JeEA
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: Mainstage and Yamaha DX7

Post by JeEA » Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:37 pm

I run metaplugin and use dexed. Mostly in my apple GarageBand.
I should be possible to just open metaplugin and load dexed into that. Remember to connect the 2 sound vires and midi vire all are virtual vires Then it should work. I guess You use a midi kbd to control it.
By the Way dexed is free. Most other dx7 emulators are not and You Can load all the 4 KB sysex data into it

Post Reply