MIDI recording - a little help?

For computer based music makers. Discussions about plug-ins and stand alone computer synth gear.
User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5155
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: MIDI recording - a little help?

Post by madtheory » Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:17 am

That catches lots of people. It's not you, it's really dumb labelling! Bit like the "to guitar" and "to amp" labelling on JD Wah pedals. OK they're trying to be helpful, but it ends up causing total confusion because it doesn't teach you the basic signal path. So you end up unable to diagnose simple problems.

I see you have a V-Synth. I can't talk to you now due to hatred ;)

User avatar
Black Tomorrow
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 367
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 7:52 am
Real name: kp Catalano
Gear: MG-1, V-Synth w/ VC1, Poly800, PSR740, Triton, SHS10, Boss DR770, Stylophone, Hammond M-143, acoustic piano, reed organ, didgeridoo, Garritan library.
Location: North Carolina
Contact:

Re: MIDI recording - a little help?

Post by Black Tomorrow » Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:01 pm

Well if it's any comfort, I lost some functionality on it since switching to Windows 7.
You can't synthesize love

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5772
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

Re: MIDI recording - a little help?

Post by meatballfulton » Tue Mar 22, 2016 5:48 pm

Ah, the curse of software...
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
garranimal
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1728
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: MIDI recording - a little help?

Post by garranimal » Tue Mar 22, 2016 6:03 pm

Black Tomorrow wrote:
garranimal wrote:make sure the cable midi IN is connected to the Yamaha midi OUT.
Actually this was it. I assumed the IN and OUT labels indicated that they were supposed to match (IN going to IN and OUT going to OUT). Dumb move on my part I guess. But once I switched, I started getting signal. The Yamaha seemed to be only sending intermittent notes so I switched to the Triton and now it's working perfectly. Thank you for all your input, guys. You've been awesome.
Yay! Little victories and spoils all around. I've done this. I think we've all done this. Such is the way of midi recording, it will not be the last of your troubles.

User avatar
garranimal
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1728
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: MIDI recording - a little help?

Post by garranimal » Thu Mar 24, 2016 5:09 pm

Midi troubles: Case in point. Just yesterday I was sending midi notes from DAW to the AX73. It was screeching the wrong notes, like cats mating. Spent ALL DAY sussing it out. The DAW was sending midi clock messages to that port. The AX73, and its fallible midi scheme, interpreted the clock messages as note data.

User avatar
pflosi
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3620
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:14 pm
Gear: more than 150 characters...
Location: zürich
Contact:

Re: MIDI recording - a little help?

Post by pflosi » Thu Mar 24, 2016 6:28 pm

garranimal wrote:like cats mating
Audio or it didn't happen

User avatar
garranimal
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1728
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:57 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: MIDI recording - a little help?

Post by garranimal » Thu Mar 24, 2016 6:49 pm

pflosi wrote:
garranimal wrote:like cats mating
Audio or it didn't happen
I had to know somebody here would want to hear that. Some TR-8 beats added for your enjoyment.

Post Reply