Page 1 of 1

matrix 1000 strange problem!!!!

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 10:22 am
by sonotor
I need Help!!!!
I have a matrix 1000 with firmware 1.16

Some patches don't play!
I did the reset procedure... not solved the problem.

I check with M1000x editor and
I found that there is no sound when I select "pulse" width
but "Wave" work well.
the 2 DCO work perfectly with "wave" "noise" and "click" but with "pulse" nothing!
Pulse work only when width is totally down on m1000x editor. If I move the width cursor sound disappear.
Filter is ok. Lfo 1&2 are good.

I did the voices check successfully with wave: 6 voices ok! But with pulse nothing.

The problem appeared after I've installed the new battery socket with a new battery and the 3 new caps. (The 3 big ones : 6800 mf and 2 4700mf). I've checked carefully and I did the job well, no mistakes...

I 've try to change also four 10mf cap c26 c801 c804 c812 without any effect.

I've checked the voltages on pin tp1...tp9 and I have +12 -12 +5 -5v .
On tp2 there is approx 4.2v and not +5M (what means+ 5M?)

I have 0v on tp9 dac with the help of vr701

I don't think that cem3396 are faulty... but?

I did several reset, nothing help!

I don't know what to do now....

thanks for helping

Re: matrix 1000 strange problem!!!!

PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:18 am
by jxalex
How is it now? any change?

The capacitors swap is not the problem unless you made something else too.

that one
On tp2 there is approx 4.2v and not +5M (what means+ 5M?)


scanning error. typo. it is 5V ... V and M look similar, perhaps there was some dirt on page which looked like it was M :)


please link to service manual or send to me. might read and give some tips.

Re: matrix 1000 strange problem!!!!

PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 8:37 am
by Rasputin
Wild guess, but my first thought is that you messed up one of the +5V lines when you replaced the 6800uF cap in the power supply. Check both for low supply (input) voltage and high ripple on the input of both 5V regulators.

Just a hunch.

Re: matrix 1000 strange problem!!!!

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2017 6:29 pm
by HideawayStudio
jxalex wrote:How is it now? any change?

The capacitors swap is not the problem unless you made something else too.

that one
On tp2 there is approx 4.2v and not +5M (what means+ 5M?)


scanning error. typo. it is 5V ... V and M look similar, perhaps there was some dirt on page which looked like it was M :)


please link to service manual or send to me. might read and give some tips.


No, it is supposed to read +5M - its not a scanning error.

4.2 Volts is fine on that rail - on the Matrix 1000 the +5M rail is for the battery backed NVRAM for the Patch Memory. It can be as low as 2.7V and no more than around 4.7 volts because of the volts drop across the blocking diodes in series with both the 5V rail and the Lithium backup battery.