Roland MS1 bios update problems

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 717
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by gmeredith » Wed Jun 24, 2020 4:57 am

We'll never know. I loaded it and it bricked my MS-1. It's only because the kind Roland tech guy I contacted gave me the 1.12 file to restore it that I have my machine working today. I deleted the troublesome 1.13 file off my computerso it would never harm anyone again. The readme.txt went with it so I never found out what it was supposed to fix
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

timbob
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 2:47 pm

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by timbob » Sun Oct 18, 2020 2:55 pm

gmeredith wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 4:57 am
We'll never know. I loaded it and it bricked my MS-1. It's only because the kind Roland tech guy I contacted gave me the 1.12 file to restore it that I have my machine working today.
Hello! sorry to kick a topic this old, but I thought it would be better than opening a new one...

I recently tried to update the firmware of my MS-1 to see if i could get it working with a new CF card. The machine was working fine on version 1.0 but couldn't read an external card. I got the 1.12 firmware and tried updating my machine, now it's bricked and will just display "ROLAND".

@gmeredith, the link you posted doesn't work anymore. Do you still have the file somewhere? I tried looking around the web for other 1.12 versions, but non of them seem to work..

If someone has an older version that does work I'm ok with that too. I'd rather have a working 1.0 version than a bricked 1.12 :?

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 717
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by gmeredith » Sun Oct 18, 2020 10:19 pm

I do have it. Thanks for the info on my bad link, I'll fix it. In the meantime, send me a PM with your email and I'll send it to you.

Whatever you do, don't despair - you WILL fix it, they are a bullet-proof machine. As soon as you have the correct BIOS, it will greet you with the MS1 startup screen. It took me a couple of goes. Use the Roland sysex loader they provide on their support site, it's easy to use. You can use others, but it was simple and got my machine back up running.

Also, some MIDI-USB adapters are flaky sending sysex dumps. I have a Roland UM-1.

Cheers, Graham
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

timbob
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 2:47 pm

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by timbob » Mon Oct 19, 2020 8:41 pm

Oh, that's awesome. I'll shoot you a dm.

I tried to update the MS-1 from a mac on a tascam and it went flakey. I'll try to fix a windows computer and another midi interface and try again with your BIOS.

who knows I might get my clunky sampler back to life :D

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 717
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by gmeredith » Mon Oct 19, 2020 10:24 pm

If you got the v1.12 OS off the Roland website, it's corrupt. I've used it. I got the good v1.12 after emailing Roland support, and they sent me it, which is the one I will give you
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

timbob
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 2:47 pm

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by timbob » Wed Oct 21, 2020 3:15 pm

gmeredith wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 10:24 pm
If you got the v1.12 OS off the Roland website, it's corrupt. I've used it. I got the good v1.12 after emailing Roland support, and they sent me it, which is the one I will give you
I sent you a DM just now, hopefully your version does work.

Shame on Roland for providing a buggy OS on their website..

If I get this machine back to life again, the next step is replacing the LCD. It has some missing lines, and could really use a backlight :D

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 717
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by gmeredith » Thu Oct 22, 2020 12:28 am

Sent you the file. Good luck!

Actually double shame on them - they provided 2 corrupt files - the 1.13 version AND the 1.12 version (on their support website)

I think there is confusion between Roland US techs and Roland Japan Techs communication. Must be the google translator they use!
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

vvave
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 11:21 am

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by vvave » Thu Nov 12, 2020 11:34 am

Hi There!
Glad to see this thread is still alive after more than 10 years! :P
I just bought a Roland MS-1 too and I've found the firmware to be 1.10.
I wish to expand the unit with a PCMCIA Flash but I've read the card is not working if you have not updated the firmware.. so, can you please share the firmware update?
And then.. how can I do to update the firmware without a flash card working?
Thank you in advance.

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 717
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by gmeredith » Thu Nov 12, 2020 9:48 pm

Send me a PM with your email address, I'll send you the file

You don't need a flash card to update the bios, just a computer and a MIDI port or USB/MIDI adapter

Cheers, Graham
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

vvave
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 11:21 am

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by vvave » Mon Nov 16, 2020 9:21 pm

Hey Graham! Sorry for the delayed reply.. but I can't find the PM function.. Am I missing something? :cry:

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6127
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by meatballfulton » Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:46 pm

vvave, just click on his name underneath his avatar. That takes you to his profile, you'll see contact info there.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 717
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by gmeredith » Sun Jan 17, 2021 3:36 am

OK everyone, I've just uploaded the MS-1 BIOS v1.12 to my server. Here is the link:

http://www.warningwillrobinson.com.au/i ... anuals.htm

Look for it under the Roland heading.

It is a bundled zip file that has the whole kit of all things MS-1, including the v1.12 good BIOS to fix your bricked MS-1 (or to update it to take larger CF cards), service manual, docs, info.

It also has the original factory Demo sounds!

Cheers. Graham
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

timbob
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 2:47 pm

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by timbob » Wed Feb 24, 2021 8:16 pm

So, I somehow bricked my machine a while back. Got to this forum, asked for help, got the other firmware, tried to upload it from a Mac, didn’t want to work, finally got to borrow a Windows laptop, installed a usb midi device, tried to run the update from there, didn’t work..

Tried again, didn’t work.

It keept stating: *waiting for next*

I then sent just the firmware, not the demo, also didn’t work.

I started sending the firmware and turned the machine on after a few seconds (read somewhere that it might work, maybe even in this thread?) didn’t work.

Gave up hope.

Came to this forum to declare my MS-1 officially bricked, while it was trying one last time.

Started typing, looked at the MS-1...

AND IT JUST BOOTED AS NORMAL! :shock:

So, to anyone with the same symptoms, what finally did work was:
- start sending the update
- count to four
- turn on power while holding pads 4 and 5
- hope for the best :lol:

But better try the normal way first.

Thanks gmeredith for providing the tools!
Now let’s try and see if I can get that card I ordered to work 😅

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 717
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by gmeredith » Wed Feb 24, 2021 10:11 pm

Hah thats great news! Good tip for anyone sweating over this wonderful machine. Don't ever give up on it. I see these machines selling on ebay bricked going for a song because people didn't know what we do...
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

timbob
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2020 2:47 pm

Re: Roland MS1 bios update problems

Post by timbob » Wed Feb 24, 2021 11:33 pm

And while we are on the subject of fixing things, I decided to upgrade the screen as well. It was beginning to decay, rows of pixels not showing.

Now it has a new screen with a backlight!

Image

But that’s more of a subject for another post :lol:

Post Reply