Most affordable hardware synth that can upload samples to

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
Post Reply
easter12
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:19 pm

Most affordable hardware synth that can upload samples to

Post by easter12 » Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:37 pm

I'm a beginner when it comes to synths.
I'm looking for a hardware synth that I can upload samples to?
Any suggestions?
Thanks a lot!

gcoudert
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:24 pm
Real name: Gilles
Gear: Roland Fantom X7 with Ultimate Keys expansion, Yamaha TX802, Roland JP-8080, Tascam DP-24SD.
Location: SE England

Re: Most affordable hardware synth that can upload samples t

Post by gcoudert » Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:58 pm

Roland Fantom X6. Good synth engine (ROMpler style). I have an X7 and X8 hooked up to a WinXP PC for sample transfer. And it accepts wavs.
GC

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3748
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Most affordable hardware synth that can upload samples t

Post by Ashe37 » Fri Apr 28, 2017 2:43 pm

a Blofeld?

User avatar
Z
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3490
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:08 am
Gear: Bubble wrap, Styrofoam, boxes, packing tape
Location: Docking Bay 94 (Dallas, TX)
Contact:

Re: Most affordable hardware synth that can upload samples t

Post by Z » Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:40 pm

Novation Circuit. I just picked up a used one for $200.
youtube.com/zibbybone facebook.com/ZsFlippinGear

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5695
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

Re: Most affordable hardware synth that can upload samples t

Post by meatballfulton » Fri Apr 28, 2017 5:47 pm

All three answers above are somewhat correct but easter12 didn't state clearly whether he/she meant new or used and what kind of samples...one shots like individual drums, loops, multisampled instruments like pianos.
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2762
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Lyra, The Sun Worshipers
Location: Exton/ westchester

Re: Most affordable hardware synth that can upload samples t

Post by ninja6485 » Fri Apr 28, 2017 5:53 pm

meatballfulton wrote:All three answers above are somewhat correct but easter12 didn't state clearly whether he/she meant new or used and what kind of samples...one shots like individual drums, loops, multisampled instruments like pianos.
:agree: The Akai S2000 is cheaper than all these, and you can load samples on it. It does not have a separate Synth engine, or performance controls, as it's just a rack sampler though!
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...

gcoudert
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:24 pm
Real name: Gilles
Gear: Roland Fantom X7 with Ultimate Keys expansion, Yamaha TX802, Roland JP-8080, Tascam DP-24SD.
Location: SE England

Re: Most affordable hardware synth that can upload samples t

Post by gcoudert » Fri Apr 28, 2017 6:00 pm

ninja6485 wrote:
meatballfulton wrote:All three answers above are somewhat correct but easter12 didn't state clearly whether he/she meant new or used and what kind of samples...one shots like individual drums, loops, multisampled instruments like pianos.
:agree: The Akai S2000 is cheaper than all these, and you can load samples on it. It does not have a separate Synth engine, or performance controls, as it's just a rack sampler though!
It's a great sampler if you don't mind going down the floppy or SCSI road. It doesn't load wavs either although its PC software (what was it called again?) can convert them, IIRC.
GC

Post Reply