ESI-32 MIDI Sample Dump Problem OS 3.02

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

ESI-32 MIDI Sample Dump Problem OS 3.02

Postby Olaf_Oldschool » Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:19 am

Hi Guys,

I'm using an old ESI-32 which I'v purchased a couple of weeks ago.
It came with OS 2.1 and everything was working fine including support for GOTEC USB-FLoppy Emulator and SCSI-IDE Adpter with attached IDE DOM of 8GB.

Unfortunately I don't have SCSI in any of my computers and don't want to buy an adapter to transfer Samples to my ESI.
I've tried MIDI Sample Dump to do this and it's working fine with OS 2.1.
It's slow but working, that's ok for my needs.

Now I've purchased some Eproms with OS 3.02 and replaced the old ones.
Os 3.02 is shown in the display of the sampler.
Unfortunately now MIDI Sample Dump is not longer working.
It interrupts shortly after the start and only a few packets are sent.

Anyboday knows about this problem?
And maybe knows how it can be fixed?

As far as I know the release note regarding the OS 3.02 says "..the MIDI sample dump problem fixed..".
Is this the problem they were talking about?
But why it isn't working?

Best regards,

Olaf

p.s.: answers in English and German are most welcome :mrgreen:
Last edited by Olaf_Oldschool on Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Olaf_Oldschool
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:15 am

Re: ESI-32 MIDI Sample Dump Problem OS 3.02

Postby madtheory » Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:09 pm

What MIDI interface are you using?
User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 4831
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Location: Cork, Ireland
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Novation KSR, PT12, VCZ, Redmatica, MIDIQuest, Casio FZ, SK5, Komplete, M1, Theremin, Digi Vocalist, Quadravrb+, Kaoss Pad, JV, SPD, Cyclone, Drummer.
Band: madtheory

Re: ESI-32 MIDI Sample Dump Problem OS 3.02

Postby Olaf_Oldschool » Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:25 pm

Hi,

I'm using the MOTU MIDI lite.
I've tried the MIDI I/O of my Lexicon Omega, too.
Still have a Midisport 2x2 but havn't tried it yet (just forgotten) and switched back to 2.10 in the meantime.

[EDIT]
I'm using Sample Wrench for Sample Dump SDS16 and tried Elektron C6, too.
Both work with 2.10 and won't work with 3.02.

Regards,

Olaf
Olaf_Oldschool
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:15 am

Re: ESI-32 MIDI Sample Dump Problem OS 3.02

Postby madtheory » Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:59 pm

OK. I'm out of ideas, sorry :(
User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 4831
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Location: Cork, Ireland
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Novation KSR, PT12, VCZ, Redmatica, MIDIQuest, Casio FZ, SK5, Komplete, M1, Theremin, Digi Vocalist, Quadravrb+, Kaoss Pad, JV, SPD, Cyclone, Drummer.
Band: madtheory

Re: ESI-32 MIDI Sample Dump Problem OS 3.02

Postby Olaf_Oldschool » Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:09 pm

Thanks anyway.

Hopefully someone else will have an idea.

BR,

Olaf
Olaf_Oldschool
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:15 am

Re: ESI-32 MIDI Sample Dump Problem OS 3.02

Postby Olaf_Oldschool » Thu Sep 14, 2017 7:22 am

It could be helpful aswell if anybody with an ESI-32 and OS 3.02 can try to MIDI Sample Dump.
If he/she needs advice how to do this please let me know.
Maybe I've purchased a defective OS? Or a beta version of the 3.02 or whatever.

BR

Olaf
Olaf_Oldschool
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:15 am

Re: ESI-32 MIDI Sample Dump Problem OS 3.02

Postby madtheory » Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:29 am

Jeepers. People are being quite mean in their asking price for USB SCSI interfaces. That would be the best solution, but it costs as much as an ESI does!

Just a thought- IME the range of filters in Kontakt are, these days, as good as what is in the ESI. It doesn't quite have the same warmth in transposing as the ESI but that was always pretty subtle anyway. It was quite a high fidelity machine. Personally I've been happy for years after selling on my ESI4000, which was a great machine in its day. Still have the library :)
User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 4831
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Location: Cork, Ireland
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Novation KSR, PT12, VCZ, Redmatica, MIDIQuest, Casio FZ, SK5, Komplete, M1, Theremin, Digi Vocalist, Quadravrb+, Kaoss Pad, JV, SPD, Cyclone, Drummer.
Band: madtheory

Re: ESI-32 MIDI Sample Dump Problem OS 3.02

Postby Olaf_Oldschool » Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:53 am

Hi,

I know SCSI is the best way.
But for me MSD is an acceptable solution as long as it works .... :roll:
So I'll keep asking for some help.

BR,

Olaf
Olaf_Oldschool
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:15 am

Re: ESI-32 MIDI Sample Dump Problem OS 3.02

Postby blueknob » Thu Sep 14, 2017 4:53 pm

I have esi-32 with the 3.02 os, midi sample dump works for me, however... My fav app (SampleWrench) doesn't seem to work, I get some sort of problem where it sets up the transfer then halts at the transmission.

Anyway.. I then tried "Elektron C6" (c6.exe) which I think is an app for some other hardware, it works for me.

Give C6 a try...ooh I just noticed you have tried C6. Let me go look at my settings.. here is what I used last time.

Image
blueknob
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 12:30 pm
Location: England, UK
Gear: ESi32/E6400U, Novation Supernova, Ensoniq (a shedful), vintage Macs, Hamm C3/122

Re: ESI-32 MIDI Sample Dump Problem OS 3.02

Postby Rasputin » Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:42 am

I have an ESI-4000 v3.02 (basically the same as the ESI-32) and SampleWrench doesn't work with it for MIDI SDS here either. So I think E-mu just did a poor job with their implementation.

In my case, I select the sample to receive the dump, hit Enter, it's waiting for transfer, I hit send in SampleWrench and... blip, it instantly cancels out.

MIDI SDS on my E-mu Emax works perfectly with SampleWrench though -- which is funny because it's the same company and a decade older tech.

I use SCSI on the ESI though, so I never really poked at the hows or whys of SDS not working. Curious though. I have heard a rumor that removing the opposite MIDI cable cures this though. So basically make it unidirectional by only having MIDI In connected for receiving or MIDI Out for sending. Don't know if that's true, never bothered.
Rasputin
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:52 am

Re: ESI-32 MIDI Sample Dump Problem OS 3.02

Postby Olaf_Oldschool » Fri Sep 15, 2017 8:49 am

Thanks guys !
Maybe Sample Wrench is the problem here not OS 3.02.
But it's funny anyway that OS 2.10 works fine with SampleWrench.
I'll give c6 another try, maybe I did something wrong.

I'll let you know but it may take a few days.

BR,

Olaf
Olaf_Oldschool
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:15 am

Re: ESI-32 MIDI Sample Dump Problem OS 3.02

Postby Olaf_Oldschool » Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:53 pm

Guys .... you find me pleased.

blueknob c6 and your settings are working for me, too.
I think the Problem seems to be that SDS handshake isn't working with OS 3.02 but with 2.10.
Turning the handshake on in c6 results in the same transfer stop like it happened with Sample Wrench.

It was a lot of comfort for me starting the Dump in Sample Wrench without the need making the EMU waiting for a dump. It automatically switched and was receiving the dump.
This isn't working with OS 3.02 anymore.
But at least I'm able again sending samples to my ESI via MIDI.
Minimum requirements are met :D

BR,

Olaf
Olaf_Oldschool
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:15 am

Re: ESI-32 MIDI Sample Dump Problem OS 3.02

Postby blueknob » Sat Sep 16, 2017 11:43 am

Yay Olaf, result! :D I have just tried my setup again, one midi lead (once Mr R mentioned the one midi lead, I remembered that is what I do), send to samplepos 2 (which puts the sample into esi32 slot 1) - so yes that works for me. Like you, I use the midi sample dump as a quick and easy way to get smaller samples into the esi32, for anything complex I use scsi, but midi is always my first choice.

I think what has been said must be correct, something has changed regarding handshaking. All we need now of for you to make a YouTube video of how you use your Esi32!
blueknob
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 12:30 pm
Location: England, UK
Gear: ESi32/E6400U, Novation Supernova, Ensoniq (a shedful), vintage Macs, Hamm C3/122


Return to Samplers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest