Converting S5000 to S6000

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

Converting S5000 to S6000

Postby ajaxblak » Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:07 pm

Hi. I am curious if there is any difference between the Akai S5000 and Akai S6000 firmware? I happen it have a spare working S6000 remote face plate and wondered if i could connect it to an S5000 motherboard and use it as a remote for that sampler. I see on the motherboard there are separate connector points for the S5000 and the S6000. If I bought the serial style connector piece that connects the S6000 remote face plate, connected it to the S5000 motherboard, and pulled the front panel connector on the S5000, would it boot as an S6000?

Any one out there try this?

Thanks!
ajaxblak
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 7:57 pm

Re: Converting S5000 to S6000

Postby ajaxblak » Sat Mar 24, 2018 8:32 pm

Ok, so i sort of answered my own question a bit. After looking at images and videos of the insides of the S5000, it appears that the S5000 motherboards, do not have the clip in connector that the S6000 needs to connect soldered on the board from factory. So a stock S5000 would not be able to connect to the S6000 face plate.
ajaxblak
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 7:57 pm


Return to Samplers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests