sample clearance

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
razorriley

sample clearance

Post by razorriley » Tue Feb 13, 2007 11:11 pm

basically, when do i need to worry about sample clearance and how do i go about clearing samples.

also, i've read a few places that producers dont have to worry about the clearance, the artist that uses the song does.

shaft9000
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Gear: Whips chains waxes oils dildos DMT TNT the LHC, and a black rubber duckie
Band: moneymoneymoney

Post by shaft9000 » Wed Feb 14, 2007 2:09 am

Do what I do : sample yourself. No Worries! :lol:

then again....
I am no expert, I'm a composer. BUT I do know a few lawyers, and intellectual property law I did study in college and continue to keep abreast of, somewhat.
Sampling is a very touchy subject with a lot of grey areas. Often the credited songwriter and/or publisher is where the buck stops. A producers may just get paid or put up the money to make the record and move on, unless their contract specifies otherwise. If the producer recieives songwriting credit, he or she is probably just as liable for plagiarism as the artist.
Of course there's the PuffDaddy route - which is to sample past hits and payoff whomever you need too.
If anyone's around to care or notice, sampling that hit from twenty or thirty years ago and releasing it on a new recording without clearance is risky, to say the least.
A record enters the Public Domain a long time (50+ years) after the songwriter's death. Until it enter's the Public Domain, it is under copyright protection and connot be used safely without clearance.
This isn't the 80's anymore, and that's why there will never be records like 'Paul's Botique' or 'Fear of a Black Planet'.... made with unpaid Johnny Cash and Bob Dylan and God-knows-what-else samples all over them.