samplers piss me off (rant)

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
User avatar
Yoozer
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1390
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 1:31 pm

Post by Yoozer » Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:07 am

(tiny voice).. software?
"Part of an instrument is what it can do, and part of it is what you do to it" - Suzanne Ciani, 197x.

User avatar
wiss
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2141
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:03 pm
Gear: .com, mpc, and a studio full of behringer clones.
Location: Chicago

Post by wiss » Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:10 am

removed by me
Last edited by wiss on Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:15 am, edited 2 times in total.
"All we used was the explosion and the orchestra hit. The Fairlight was a $100,000 waste of space."

User avatar
Maschinengeist
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:42 pm
Real name: Steph. J
Gear: Multimeter
Frequency Counter
Oscilloscope
Signal Generator
Logic Probe
and more stuff
Band: Cybernetik
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Post by Maschinengeist » Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:11 am

-------------------------------------------------------------------
MuzikElektronix.com
Music electronics repair & More
Help? See TechZone
Parts? email!
Service Manuals?+/-2000 documents!
Sorry, they aren't free
Now on FACEBOOK: "Muzik Elektronix"

roginator
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 7:38 pm

Post by roginator » Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:32 am

you can try Dynacord ADD ONE with ADD Drive...I own one (beside EII, EIII, E4, PPG with waveterm and asr 10)
that is really good sampler to work with...

anyway...maybe you should open and clean yout EMAX..rubber keys are problematic with time but easy to clean!!!!!!


D

User avatar
gs
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 6:10 pm
Location: USA

Post by gs » Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:37 am

You have to pick the sampler whose OS and GUI you will be the most comfortable with. That's probably nearly impossible to know in advance! :shock: I know. Have you been able to locate a manual (online in PDF format?) I'd do that for starters. Become completely familiar with all of the concepts associated with sampling, such as creating multi-samples, mapping samples to keyboard ranges, looping and crossfading - if you intend to get samples from other synths. I've done that a lot on my DSS-1, which is actually one that I'd recommend because it sounds great and it pretty much walks you through the sampling process. You gotta know what exactly you want it to do for you, in advance, but once you get through a short learning curve it's pretty easy. You already have a great 12-bit sampling synth that competes with my Korg, so I'd just get to learn how to do everything on the Emax, I'm sure it's completely capable of what you want it to do.
Kurzweil PC3, Yamaha MOX8, Korg Z1, Alesis Ion, Alesis QS8.2, Kawai K3M

User avatar
piRoN
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 541
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 7:04 am
Gear: A fair bit.
Location: The crotch of The Lucky Country

Post by piRoN » Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:41 am

The only practical solution is obviously to buy more samplers. That's what I do. ;)
Ensoniq EPS-m | Elby Designs ASM-2 | Yamaha TQ5 | Akai S3000XL | Akai X7000 | Novation KS-4 | SCI Prophet 2000 | Kawai K1m | Korg Monotribe | Korg Monotron | Roland S-50 | Roland D-10 | Roland MKS-7 | Yamaha RX11

Alexx
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Bonnie Scotland

Post by Alexx » Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:46 am

Try some other samplers; find one that has better easy-of-use for you. (Try a more modern E-mu—EIV/EIV Ultra series—or an Akai).
Now is a great time to buy hardware samplers; loads of ones that cost thousands going for practically nothing.

User avatar
Joey
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1885
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:13 pm
Gear: 18u Eurorack, Octatrack, Pro2
Band: BLUSH_RESPONSE
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by Joey » Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:13 am

the Akai s series are great for that kind of stuff.

i'd also suggest EXS 24 in logic if you use logic
No one cares, no one sympathizes,
so you just stay home and play synthesizers.

http://wearereplicants.com

User avatar
portland
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Real name: Zakarias
Gear: Elektron Machinedrum UW+, GEM S2, Roland S-760, Korg SDD-3300, Kawai Q-80, Yamaha TG-77, Yamaha 01x, Adam A7s, Logic Studio, Reaktor 5
Band: Romeo Alfa
Location: The Mind Dimension
Contact:

Post by portland » Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:17 am

djfetus wrote:masch i have the manual in front of me. doesnt do any good, ;\
Well it doesn't matter where you put it, you have to open it up and read it for it to do any good.

Either that or write more clearly so people can understand the problem.

User avatar
premieklovn
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 4:50 pm
Gear: T.O.N.T.O
Band: Monomen
Location: Oslo
Contact:

Post by premieklovn » Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:35 am

I used to have an AKAI S900 and it was a b***h to use as well. Digital menu's from the 80s are a b***h in general.

User avatar
donaldm
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 8:03 pm
Gear: modular synthesizer
Location: pedal depressed pan chromatic resonance and other highly ambient domain

Post by donaldm » Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:38 am

EPS, dude, so easy most of the users of this forum could figure it out.

User avatar
30h5
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 249
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 3:30 am
Gear: SH-2, JV-880, D-110, M-1000, CS-15, FR-777, FR-XS, ESQ-1
Location: Berkshire, NY

Post by 30h5 » Mon Apr 30, 2007 4:39 am

donaldm wrote:EPS, dude, so easy most of the users of this forum could figure it out.
What's THAT supposed to mean? :wink:

User avatar
hinotori
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 2:07 am
Gear: /A1200/CVI/SIXTRAK/
SYSTEM100&100M/CS30/SK1/NORDG2/
Location: UK

Post by hinotori » Mon Apr 30, 2007 8:42 am

i just picked up a CASIO FZ-1 for nearly nothing in my local treasure chest of an ignorant junk store .
the sign, again in japanese, read something like this :
"powers up, no sounds"
"ITS A SAMPLER ! . . an empty box" i thought and bought it for 1000 yen .

back on topic .

ITS GREAT .
i reccomend this machine .
mine has a very dim screen but am about to try to sort that with some help (see my next post if you know how to do it)

its hand drawn waveforms and synthesis options really open it up . and the filters sound great (in a unique way) .
its fun to use . menus and submenus but well designed , bug screen . . just my 2 yen . . . well, my 1000 .

get one if you see one cheap .

jupiter8
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by jupiter8 » Mon Apr 30, 2007 8:50 am

Have you tried the Roland S 7x0 samplers ? They're pretty easy to use with a monitor and mouse. Could be the thing for you. They're like a computer but with out the hassle. I used to have a S-750.

schmidi
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 2:52 pm
Location: seattle
Contact:

Post by schmidi » Mon Apr 30, 2007 2:09 pm

unfortunately, the reason that hardware samplers are so cheap now on the used market is that they all are a b***h to program (some more than others). Software is definately much more intuitive, especially if you want to make full on instruments and not just one shot drum sounds/loops. I do understand that having a dedicated peice has it's advantages though, and everyone has their own work style.

That said, from what I've heard and experienced the most user friendly hardware samplers out there are: Emu E series (E5000, E4, Esynth, E4xt), Akai (S2000, S3000, S5000, S6000, Z4, Z8), Roland S series (S550, S760, S770), and Yamaha A series (A4000, A5000).

These represent the heyday of hardware sampling and are seriously discounted at the moment.

Post Reply