Page 1 of 1

Roland JS-30: useful/useless?

Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 6:52 pm
by Sir Ruff
I never really even paid attention to these before, but having been getting a little more into small samplers lately, it looks sort of neat.

I can tell it's pretty much a record and play back/sequence type deal, but that's pretty much what I'm after.

Anyone ever use one? I figure it's probably one of the cheapest "groove" type samplers out there, but is it actually usable?!

Posted: Fri May 23, 2008 10:08 am
by crystalmsc

Posted: Fri May 23, 2008 5:05 pm
by Sir Ruff
crystalmsc wrote:SOS has a nice review for it:
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/1995_ar ... djs30.html
thanks... I actually saw this before, but then couldn't get on cos I was blocked at work :roll:

sounds like it's worth it just fort the 8-bit 22khz sampling!

Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 5:30 pm
by Dane_Xoth
Looked into getting one 10(?) years ago.
Personally i think it looks sexy

Image

No filters (IIRC) no thanks.

8-bit sampling without upgrading the RAM? How does that work? And good luck finding 3x1Mb RAM these days!

Pass.

Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 1:53 am
by Sir Ruff
Dane_Xoth wrote:Looked into getting one 10(?) years ago.
Personally i think it looks sexy

Image

No filters (IIRC) no thanks.

8-bit sampling without upgrading the RAM? How does that work? And good luck finding 3x1Mb RAM these days!

Pass.
while the 8-bit is laughable, that actually kind of made me want it more! I don't really want "features" such as memory :lol: , I just want dirty aliased samples! who knows how this thing actually sounded!

Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 2:56 pm
by Dane_Xoth
Sir Ruff wrote:
Dane_Xoth wrote:Looked into getting one 10(?) years ago.
Personally i think it looks sexy



No filters (IIRC) no thanks.

8-bit sampling without upgrading the RAM? How does that work? And good luck finding 3x1Mb RAM these days!

Pass.
while the 8-bit is laughable, that actually kind of made me want it more! I don't really want "features" such as memory :lol: , I just want dirty aliased samples! who knows how this thing actually sounded!
That was one of the 'pros' when i considered it. :D
I know my Akai S950 has a completely variable sample bit/rate. Fairy certain the Roland S-760 has bit/rate reduction, but only as a resample feature. The DJ 70 M2 only goes between 44.1 and 22.05. My more Modern Yamaha A3000 has all sorts of mangling F/X. (part of the reason i pass on things, is that i should use what i have, as it does well enough!)

Personally i feel something is missed not having the experience of a hardware sampler. Struggling to get more from less , builds an appreciation for sound, and a sort of discipline (hopefully).

I probably would recommend this to someone...if they were interested in the lo-fi sound, with the warning that it most likely will have a frustrating learning/productivity curve.

Additionally i don't think they'd cost too much! :D

Re: Roland JS-30: useful/useless?

Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:53 pm
by Robonaut
I actually used to own one of these. It was not one of my better purchases. #-o

My recollection is that you're really hampered by the crappy display.

I think that you'd probably be much better served to pay a little more and get a S-760 or maybe a DJ-70.

Re: Roland JS-30: useful/useless?

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:44 am
by tom Cadillac
This was the first sampler I bought - it was so cheap and i was so happy! But I never got any muiscal use out of it and was so glad that someone bought it from me. Avoid!

Re: Roland JS-30: useful/useless?

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 8:20 am
by wiss
I am going to post a demo in a few days on youtube....

its 8 bit @ 22 unless you do the Ram up grade then it's 16bit @ 44, then it can read AKAI files off the SCSI...

Re: Roland JS-30: useful/useless?

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 6:01 pm
by Sir Ruff
wiss wrote:I am going to post a demo in a few days on youtube....

its 8 bit @ 22 unless you do the Ram up grade then it's 16bit @ 44, then it can read AKAI files off the SCSI...
my only question is: if you sample something at a higher speed, then slow it down (or just pitch your sample down), is there a good amount of aliasing? That can be the only thing I would want this to do...

Re: Roland JS-30: useful/useless?

Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:54 am
by shaunnicks
you guys dont know what your talking about .i owned and used the js30 for years. great lil basic sampler..sounds great. can sound dirty if you need.ihad my js and a four track tape and a boss dr 202 drum machine..nice combo.bacck then i. had to put the drums on one track and samples on the other three tracks....if the beat was four. minutes i had to tap te jd pads for four minutes..but in acctuality the dr202 coulda midi sequenced the js30..i didn't know that at the time..i maastered mmidi now back then it was new and hard for me..when i first learned midi i added a Yamaha qy70 to my set up..it was my sequencer..powerful setup.did my first solo album wit it..did the job just fine..its actually a classic machine-js30..poor maans sp1200...by itself if you know how to loop breakbeats you can do full beats with it by itself .add a drum machine and maybe a midi sequencer and you got a power set up.it cant filter...but it multisamples and samples regular..it only has44 seconds or 21 seconds sampling time but you can expand the memory..great basic sampler..an advanced basic sampler..sounds warm annd clean at the highest sampling rate..trust me its a good piece to have.even iff you own other better newer sammplers..trust me shaun nicks..this is a roland classic from the 90's withh a nice sound..raw or. clean..go get it..it'll last your career..always useful to have...