Page 9 of 9

Re: Casio FZ1

Posted: Mon Feb 24, 2020 1:08 pm
by meatbingo
madtheory wrote:
Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:48 pm
I can give you a tip from my own experience- don't bother! I decided not to invest any energy in the dying floppy in mine, and acquired a USB floppy drive that could read DD disks and imaged them with the HxC floppy emulator, and replaced the drive with the HxC. Previously I've had issues with the floppy drives in a TX16W and a Mirage, and got nowhere. IMO they're a precision part that is very very difficult to repair, and there's a risk of damaging valuable disks.
Some years later... I did end up replacing the floppy in my FZ-10M with a Gotek and it works very well. Never did get around to converting my old disks though. I'd love to hear how you went about doing it. Everything I've read says I need an internal floppy drive, not USB. Would appreciate it if you could shed some light on the process you used. Cheers!

Re: Casio FZ1

Posted: Mon Feb 24, 2020 7:33 pm
by madtheory
meatbingo wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 1:08 pm
Some years later... I did end up replacing the floppy in my FZ-10M with a Gotek and it works very well. Never did get around to converting my old disks though. I'd love to hear how you went about doing it. Everything I've read says I need an internal floppy drive, not USB. Would appreciate it if you could shed some light on the process you used. Cheers!
Later in the thread someone corrected me on this- it's easy to image TX16W disks because they're MS-DOS format. So a USB floppy can read those. As you've found, a USB floppy won't read Casio disks.

But Jeff from HXC says this is how it's done:
https://www.gearslutz.com/board/showpos ... stcount=14

Re: Casio FZ1

Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 2:51 pm
by meatbingo
madtheory wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 7:33 pm
meatbingo wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 1:08 pm
Some years later... I did end up replacing the floppy in my FZ-10M with a Gotek and it works very well. Never did get around to converting my old disks though. I'd love to hear how you went about doing it. Everything I've read says I need an internal floppy drive, not USB. Would appreciate it if you could shed some light on the process you used. Cheers!
Later in the thread someone corrected me on this- it's easy to image TX16W disks because they're MS-DOS format. So a USB floppy can read those. As you've found, a USB floppy won't read Casio disks.

But Jeff from HXC says this is how it's done:
https://www.gearslutz.com/board/showpos ... stcount=14
Ah, I see. Should have read through the thread properly! Thanks for the link. Not sure how viable these disks will be after 20+ years but it'd be nice to get them going again.

Re: Casio FZ1

Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 4:54 pm
by madtheory
Best of luck! Feel free to share any cool sounds:)

Re: Casio FZ1

Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 6:23 pm
by Robber1956
Hi,
take a look at this:

http://zine.r-massive.com/casio-fz-sampler-archive/

Utilities
Casio FZ-1 IMG2FZF v0.1

Automatically convert Casio FZ disk images (IMG & HFE) to FZF format for use with Awave Studio or the ancient ‘fzdump’ utility.

Casio FZF2IMG & FZF2HFE v0.1

Automatically convert all supplied FZF files to FZ compatible HFE and IMG disk images. Supports subfolders, and maintains original filenames (no annoying double extensions).

Only for the Casio FZ

Also Play Back Tool:
Playbacktool.zip
(26.85 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
it's an HFE file made with HxC and not the utils above because Playbacktool is not a genuine FZF file.


Thanx to Swissdoc
http://www.swissdoc.de/download/FZplayback.zip

N.B. you need an external keyboard or sequenser for recording, not the FZ keyboard.

Re: Casio FZ1 Latest developments

Posted: Fri Aug 21, 2020 9:12 pm
by Robber1956
Good news, an aftermarket display for the FZ-1 is on it's way:

https://yamahamusicians.com/forum/viewt ... 12&t=10666

:yahoo:

Re: Casio FZ1

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2020 8:21 am
by azetato
Hello there,

Anybody knows how can I send a Sysex message from the FZ-1 to a computer? I'm trying a Full MIDI Dump with no luck. (I got a "Time Out Error").

I would like to save the banks and voices I'm using, to recall them from my sequencer in different projects. (Not sure If I can do it though).

Thanks in advance!