Is there any money in the sample DVD business?

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
Envergure

Is there any money in the sample DVD business?

Post by Envergure » Sat May 02, 2009 8:58 pm

Anyone every tried selling sample collections?

I'm thinking of buying an analog modular synth. Is it reasonable to expect it to pay for itself in sample collection sales in my lifetime? (Let's assume I'm a pretty good synth programmer, just to simplify things)

aeon

Re: Is there any money in the sample DVD business?

Post by aeon » Sun May 03, 2009 12:10 am

No, I don't think that is reasonable. If you decide to sell samples, have some fun, but don't expect to have a large return on investment from a modular being the source.

I could be wrong, and please don't allow my assessment to dampen any enthusiasm you have!

cheers,
Ian

RobotHeroes
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: a toothed wheel that engages another toothed mechanism in order to change the speed or direction of transmitted motion

Post by RobotHeroes » Sun May 03, 2009 5:40 am

It's possible if you hustle and cater to people that require samples. There are websites like audiojungle.net where people can sell stock audio. Websites and none musicians need samples too from time to time. Not sure how audiojungle works in regards to paying but that's something you might want to research.

I am sure the sample DVD people on eBay make tens of dollars. Just put a scantily clad woman with a nice posterior as the cover and the money rolls in.

I would agree with aeon on thinking it isn't reasonable to buy something because you expect X. How big a modular are we talking about anyway? You could always make samples with what you have right now and see if you can sell. If it works out then at least you have answered "Can I sell samples?"
"*Automatic Gainsay, you ignorant slut." - Primal Drive