YAMAHA SU-700 floppy

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
Post Reply
Eugene Tongue
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:15 pm

YAMAHA SU-700 floppy

Post by Eugene Tongue » Mon Jun 01, 2009 7:25 pm

Hi!
Which type of floppy drive does SU-700 have? IDE/ATAPI? Can I change it to IDE ZIP100 drive? Thank you.

User avatar
Shreddie
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 7:50 pm
Gear: Alesis Andromeda, Fusion 8HD: ART SGX Nightbass SE: Kawai K5000s: Yamaha A3000 V2, EX7, FS1R, PSS-480 (Don't laugh, it rocks!) and 4 planks.
Location: UK

Re: YAMAHA SU-700 floppy

Post by Shreddie » Mon Jun 01, 2009 9:09 pm

Along with most other Yamaha gear, I think it just uses a standard computer floppy drive.

As for replacing the Floppy with a Zip, you can get internal zip drives but you will need the SCSI expansion for your sampler... If it's the same one that is used in the EX7/5/5R (check which one it is, the board for the SU 700 may be different) and a couple of other yamaha products, it's not too easy to find and very expensive if you find one on it's own... The A3000 sampler has one though as does another product. I recently bought an A3000, took the SCSI board out of it and fitted it into my EX7... It worked out alot cheaper than getting the board on it's own. I now use the A3000 as an effects unit.

Post Reply