Hardware Sampler with the most hands-on interface?

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
Robonaut
Gear: Roland JD-800
Roland JV-2080
Roland SH-101
Studio Electronics Omega 8

Hardware Sampler with the most hands-on interface?

Post by Robonaut » Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:13 am

I've been using Battery 2 for several years for drum sounds and other one-shot samples. Now, though, I'd like to do something a bit more experimental.

I've owned hardware samplers in the past (including an Akai S2800 and an Emu EIV), but they never got much use because I really loathe their menu driven interfaces.

So, what I really think I'm looking for is a hardware sampler with an analog synth-like interface.

The Nord Wave seems to fit this description, but I'm wondering:

(1) Is the Nord Wave really that great of a sampler?

(2) Is there anything similar out there that's better? Or at least available for less cash?

Stab Frenzy
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX

Re: Hardware Sampler with the most hands-on interface?

Post by Stab Frenzy » Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:10 am

Check out the SP-404, could be just what you're after.

supermel74

Post by supermel74 » Wed Sep 09, 2009 2:11 am

Also check out the Korg ESX

crystalmsc
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Gear: uWaveXT,uQ,Pulse+;Ion;MiniBrt,Karma,Mntrb,Volcas,01R;Venom,NordModular,L2X;Evolver;JP8080,MKS70,JD990,D50,MC909,MC80ex,Microcon2;TG77,RS7k,AN200,AN1x
Band: Crystaline

Post by crystalmsc » Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:17 am

Robonaut wrote:for drum sounds and other one-shot samples. Now, though, I'd like to do something a bit more experimental.