Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mr. Sound Boy King
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 1:41 am

Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by Mr. Sound Boy King » Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:47 pm

Hello,

I've got a Roland SP-606 which I really like, except it's so big. I'd sell the thing & get an SP-404 or something even smaller (if possible) except I like the effects section in it too much.

My question: did Roland or Boss ever release any kind of stand-alone multi-effect with the same kind of effects found in the SP-606?

Any help appreciated.

Best,

David

User avatar
speak_onion
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:07 pm
Real name: Dan
Gear: Octatrack, G2 Engine
Band: Speak Onion
Location: Queens, NY
Contact:

Re: Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by speak_onion » Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:35 pm

Get a Kaoss pad.

User avatar
Villi
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 10:02 pm
Gear: Yamaha RS7000 & DX200, Quasimidi Sirius, Casio CZ5000
Location: Norway

Re: Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by Villi » Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:49 pm

Boss VF-1 maybe?

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by Stab Frenzy » Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:09 pm

Yeah the VF-1 should have them all covered, not as much fun to tweak though.

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by Hugo76 » Tue Apr 20, 2010 1:08 am

How many effect blocks are on offer in the VF-1? Couldn't find this on Roland's web site

User avatar
pricklyrobot
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1742
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:37 am
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by pricklyrobot » Tue Apr 20, 2010 3:18 am

Hugo76 wrote:How many effect blocks are on offer in the VF-1? Couldn't find this on Roland's web site
By effects "blocks" I assume you mean how many different effects can be strung together in one preset? It depends on the algorithm, but I think maybe 9 is the max. You can't make up your own algorithm from scratch though, you just copy one of the existing ones to a User patch and tweak (the display is a nice size, and the parameters are all pretty intuitively laid out).

So, it's definitely not a fully modular effects processor, but there's a lot of versatility and power there, especially at the prices they go for now ($100-$150). I can't really think of anything comparable in this price range. The full User Manual is on the Roland website if anyone wants more details.
Arturia MiniBrute -- bits o' Euro -- Sammich SID -- E-mu MP-7 -- Korg ER-1 -- Thingamagoop

localilocano
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:07 am
Gear: Live 8, MPC 2000xl , EPS Classic, Emulator X3

Re: Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by localilocano » Tue Apr 20, 2010 4:47 am

Do note that the pads on the sp-404 are NOT velocity sensitive and you have no waveform display used to chop up samples. How big is your gig space anyways?

User avatar
tallowwaters
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4998
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:11 am
Gear: LC-MS/MS
Location: snake's belly in a wagon rut

Re: Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by tallowwaters » Tue Apr 20, 2010 1:41 pm

EG303 also has a lot of FX in common. They also made some weird looking guitar/usb desktop FX unit.
Brains can be used like a "stress ball," but only once.

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by Hugo76 » Wed Apr 21, 2010 12:34 am

Thanks for the info, pricklyrobot.
Regarding the original question, it occured to me when sitting down with the SP-606 last night that many of the effect algorithms are a bit special - I don't know if such effects as 'Tumbling' and 'Feedback Ripper' are part of the Boss unit. but kinda doubt it. If you find these effects indispensible, you might want to reconsider (though you can probably come up with a lot more interesting stuff by combining several effects in the Boss).

User avatar
Mr. Sound Boy King
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 1:41 am

Re: Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by Mr. Sound Boy King » Thu Apr 22, 2010 6:35 pm

Thanks for the tips, guys. I actually ended up with a KP3, as one previous poster suggested, because I found one a great price. The VF-1 looks cool but having no knobs to tweak kills me. & yeah, I'm going to miss Tumbling & Feedback Ripper effects, although I'll get over it, probably through the use of all the different grain shift effects in the Kaoss Pad :P

User avatar
pricklyrobot
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 1742
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:37 am
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by pricklyrobot » Thu Apr 22, 2010 11:54 pm

Mr. Sound Boy King wrote:The VF-1 looks cool but having no knobs to tweak kills me.
Glad you found something you like (I've got the MiniKP myself, tons of fun).

But for the benefit of anyone else looking at this thread, the VF-1 has really good MIDI implementation (plus an assignable expression pedal input), so hooking it up to a box o' knobs (BCR or whatever) and tweaking from there is no problem.
Arturia MiniBrute -- bits o' Euro -- Sammich SID -- E-mu MP-7 -- Korg ER-1 -- Thingamagoop

User avatar
Mr. Sound Boy King
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 1:41 am

Re: Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by Mr. Sound Boy King » Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:35 am

Huh. It looks like I'm going to have enough room in the road case to fit a few more things... If I see a deal on a VF-1 I'm not going to be able to pass it up :facepalm:

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by Hugo76 » Fri Apr 23, 2010 12:36 pm

Mr. Sound Boy King wrote:Huh. It looks like I'm going to have enough room in the road case to fit a few more things... If I see a deal on a VF-1 I'm not going to be able to pass it up :facepalm:
Just a question: I see one of the reasons why you didn't want to keep the 606 was its size - isn't the KP3 roughly about the same size? ;)

User avatar
speak_onion
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:07 pm
Real name: Dan
Gear: Octatrack, G2 Engine
Band: Speak Onion
Location: Queens, NY
Contact:

Re: Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by speak_onion » Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:58 pm

Told you, sonne. #1 Dad.

@Hugo: Sp606 is much bigger than KP-3 and also its really annoying trapezoidesque shape makes it hard to put in a rectangular box with other rectangular objects.

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Effect section in Roland SP-606 as stand-alone?

Post by Hugo76 » Fri Apr 23, 2010 4:59 pm

speak_onion wrote:Told you, sonne. #1 Dad.

@Hugo: Sp606 is much bigger than KP-3 and also its really annoying trapezoidesque shape makes it hard to put in a rectangular box with other rectangular objects.
It is definately bigger, but I wouldn't say 'much' bigger. I can't really say it's big at all, quite the opposite, but maybe it's just me.

Post Reply