I'm new to sampling and was wondering...

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
andrew13

I'm new to sampling and was wondering...

Post by andrew13 » Thu May 06, 2010 1:16 pm

how you can split up a song and assign it to a MIDI keyboard controllers keys. I'll try and explain what I mean some more. When you sort of get a song and put it on a MIDI keyboard controller but it's the whole song split up into little parts so if you press the D key it'll play part of a song but then if you play the D sharp, it plys the next part of the song and so on. I was wondering how you would do that on Ableton Live as I've only really been using it as a sequencer and haven't even begun exploring the sampling functions fully. Any help will be appreciated and thankyou very much :D
M-Audio oxygen 49, Microkorg, Alesis Micron.
I only wish I could own a Clavia Nord lead 2.

Hair

Re: I'm new to sampling and was wondering...

Post by Hair » Thu May 06, 2010 4:20 pm

Ableton Live actually makes that really easy to do in a multitude of ways: Click that big MIDI button in the upper right corner to go into MIDI map mode, click on any clip or scene, then click on the key you want to trigger it. Click the MIDI button again and you're good to go! Clips launch based on their, well, launch settings (latch, trigger, one shot etc) - the launch menu is the little (L) button in the (L) (/\/\) (E) buttons of any clip.