SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
Post Reply
User avatar
nadafarms
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1067
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 7:33 am
Location: NorCal

SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by nadafarms » Fri Aug 27, 2010 7:09 pm

So I'm working on putting together a live set, I want to have loops that can be time streched and slaved to my tr-909.

I'm waiting for the octatrack to come out, the thing is I don't need all those features I just want to be able to play loops that time stretch and slave to something and with maybe a basic sequencer.

I'm wondering if the sp-505 is the answer? I use ableton a lot but don't want to have a laptop at a gig, I had been looking at the sp-404sx but I thought it doesn't do time stretching?

any thoughts?
for sale/trade: EML-101

cartesia
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:55 am
Gear: Octatrack
Bass Station 2
Band: TBA

Re: SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by cartesia » Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:40 pm

dont go with an SP for stretching/loops.

There really isn't much that can do it till the octatrack comes out.. most will either not realtime stretch or just pitch the loop instead of using a stretching algorithm.

The KP3 is my pick of the looping gear there is around at the moment. it pitches samples to match the tempo and has a limit of 4bars per loop, but you can do alot with it (and with 2 it really comes into its own)

User avatar
nadafarms
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1067
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 7:33 am
Location: NorCal

Re: SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by nadafarms » Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:50 am

thanks yeah sounds like the sp series won't work for this.

i'm reading that the korg microsampler can timestretch and sync/slave to an external midi clock so maybe that is the next best bet. Octatrack is a pretty damn expensive sampler and I honestly just need to be able to play back loops and don't need all the frills of the octatrack
for sale/trade: EML-101

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by Stab Frenzy » Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:31 am

I don't think the Microsampler will do it any better than the SP-404SX.

The only real options you have are Live or a V-Synth. Or you could just timestretch stuff in Live and load the pre-stretched samples into any sampler ready to go.

User avatar
nadafarms
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1067
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 7:33 am
Location: NorCal

Re: SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by nadafarms » Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:40 am

Stab Frenzy wrote:I don't think the Microsampler will do it any better than the SP-404SX.

The only real options you have are Live or a V-Synth. Or you could just timestretch stuff in Live and load the pre-stretched samples into any sampler ready to go.
are you sure? I can't find any user reviews about the time stretching on the microsampler but it sounds like it's better than the sp series at least. I imagine it sounds a bit grainy though.

I probably just need to wait and get an octatrack, ever since I "upgraded" to Ableton 8 it is so unreliable and glitchy I wouldn't dare play a show with it :oops:
for sale/trade: EML-101

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by Stab Frenzy » Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:48 pm

You should work out what's wrong with your computer that's causing the problems, Live 8.1 is totally stable. I'm gigging with it and it's fine.

User avatar
th0mas
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 5:27 pm
Gear: oakley tm3030/mopho keys/midibox sid/tr-707/tama techstars/monotron
Band: GRAVITRONIC
Location: Ontario
Contact:

Re: SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by th0mas » Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:27 pm

Stab Frenzy wrote: Live 8.1 is totally stable.
+1

User avatar
tallowwaters
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4998
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:11 am
Gear: LC-MS/MS
Location: snake's belly in a wagon rut

Re: SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by tallowwaters » Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:46 pm

The Roland S7x0/DJ70 series have great time stretching...
Brains can be used like a "stress ball," but only once.

edfunction
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 6:47 pm
Gear: sh-101, monomachine, nordmodular, esx1, nova, jx3p, jx8p, prophet vs, dx200
Location: Basel

Re: SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by edfunction » Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:04 am

sorry to jump in and hijack the thread but is there a sampler that can play loops and change tempo? not neccessarily with time stretching (pitching up and down would be ok).
the sp808 is the only one that i can think of, and that had some other issues that made it difficult to use iirc...

User avatar
tallowwaters
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4998
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:11 am
Gear: LC-MS/MS
Location: snake's belly in a wagon rut

Re: SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by tallowwaters » Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:30 pm

Any sampler can pitch a loop...
Brains can be used like a "stress ball," but only once.

edfunction
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 6:47 pm
Gear: sh-101, monomachine, nordmodular, esx1, nova, jx3p, jx8p, prophet vs, dx200
Location: Basel

Re: SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by edfunction » Wed Sep 01, 2010 12:17 am

I guess I wasn't clear enough.

Have loops running and be able to change the tempo. Actually just looking for a dedicated loop player that makes sense.
I'm not an mpc user, so I have to go from what my mpc-using buddy says... that if you have loops going you can't change the tempo and keep the loops in time. If you don't need to time-stretch I can't see why this isn't possible at least on the modern mpc's... I'm not a programmer but it was pretty easy to do this in max-msp, i just figured it would be feature on a lot of samplers, somehow (it seems (to me)) isn't.

perhaps I'm missing something, somewhere. wouldn't be the first time.

User avatar
tallowwaters
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4998
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:11 am
Gear: LC-MS/MS
Location: snake's belly in a wagon rut

Re: SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by tallowwaters » Wed Sep 01, 2010 1:48 am

If you're changing tempo, how in the h**l do you expect to keep anything in time? :lol:
Brains can be used like a "stress ball," but only once.

edfunction
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 6:47 pm
Gear: sh-101, monomachine, nordmodular, esx1, nova, jx3p, jx8p, prophet vs, dx200
Location: Basel

Re: SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by edfunction » Wed Sep 01, 2010 1:27 pm

I guess I'm just asking the same as the OP, but I don't really mind if the loops change pitch when the tempo changes...

cartesia
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 7:55 am
Gear: Octatrack
Bass Station 2
Band: TBA

Re: SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by cartesia » Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:56 am

KP3 or octatrack..

User avatar
yeahrightkid
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 8:32 pm
Gear: Cheap Synths and Samplers.
Band: Architects of Fear
Location: Melbourne, Florida

Re: SP-505/sp-404sx timestretch live performance???

Post by yeahrightkid » Tue Jan 25, 2011 1:47 pm

What about the Roland VP-9000? You've got to do a little work with it beforehand to encode the loops and all that, but it'll do exactly what you want. I picked mine up for 100 bucks, which is not that hard to do.

Post Reply