On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
User avatar
translucencecs
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 6:01 am
Gear: In a transitional phase, so only:
Yamaha SY-22
Roland MC-09
Roland M-VS1
Zoom ST-224
Dubreq Stylophone
Fostex MR8
Location: London, UK
Contact:

On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by translucencecs » Mon Sep 27, 2010 2:03 pm

Hi guys. Quick question that someone here may have some insight on...

I'm looking to buy a hardware sampler that will sample and loop, on-the-fly, whilst syncing to a tempo input via MIDI.

Basically, I want to capture and loop audio input live, as well as layer and cut-in/out multiple loops - preferably 8+ simultaneously.

I'm not bothered about connecting to PC or uploading .WAVs, etc. (although I don't MIND the facility - I'm just not bothered about it), and I don't want to have to prep all of the loops in advance, before jamming (again, I don't mind being ABLE to, I just don't want to HAVE to..!) - I specifically want to capture and loop on-the-fly.

I'm aware that the Roland MC-09 Phraselab can do this, although it doesn't really capture/loop enough bars, and it only has four sample locations. I also suspect that the Kaossilator Pro will achieve this too (but am not certain).

Anyone able to recommend something that's able to do all the above? The cheaper, the better, really...

So far most of the units I've investigated are either insufficient in terms of number of bars/samples, don't MIDI sync, or can't capture and loop live. And the stock manufacturer waffle for a lot of units doesn't actually say if their gear does this!

TIA for any assistance! :)

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5808
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by meatballfulton » Mon Sep 27, 2010 3:33 pm

translucencecs wrote: I also suspect that the Kaossilator Pro will achieve this too (but am not certain).
The Kaoss Pad 3 will do this, the Kaossilators do not sample.

Roland SP555

Korg MicroSampler (no auto playback after capture)
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by Stab Frenzy » Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:41 pm

Pardon me if I'm out of line, but I was under the impression that the Kaossilator Pro had the same four sample/loop slots as the KP3? I could be wrong though, but I thought I remembered reading that somewhere.

Kaoss Pad 3 is a good suggestion though, I've used it for that in the past at live shows and it's done the job well. Only 4 tracks, not 8+ but if you really need that many then maybe you need to buy 2. I imagine you're not into the idea of a laptop on stage, but Live 8's looper is perfect for what you want to do.

User avatar
balma
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2848
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:52 pm
Real name: Mauricio
Gear: DSI Tempest/Prophet 08/Roland V-Synth/Ensoniq Fizmo/E-mu MP7-XL7/Electribe ESX1/Radias/Waldorf MicroQ
Location: Costa Rica

Re: On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by balma » Mon Sep 27, 2010 6:36 pm

I put my finger to the Roland SP series. Capturing audio live is their best feature. They don't have an advance synthesis for mangling samples, but are very good creating small loops and managing them on a sample database.
Also, most of them can sample LINE in plus AUX at the same time
His sex dungeons are rumored to hold hundreds of people in secret locations around the world.
https://soundcloud.com/balma

masstronaut
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 10:26 pm

Re: On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by masstronaut » Tue Sep 28, 2010 12:00 am

I was a bit disappointed to read that you can't assign sampled loops to pads without stopping playback on the SP-555. Is that right? Shame if so.

User avatar
Tidda
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 5:30 pm

Re: On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by Tidda » Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:50 am

EHX 2880?

Tidda

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 707
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by gmeredith » Tue Sep 28, 2010 7:39 am

Kaossilator pro is the KP3 sampler + Kaossilator in one box. My friend who works in a music shop tried it and has ordered one for our band.

Graham
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

User avatar
translucencecs
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 6:01 am
Gear: In a transitional phase, so only:
Yamaha SY-22
Roland MC-09
Roland M-VS1
Zoom ST-224
Dubreq Stylophone
Fostex MR8
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by translucencecs » Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:14 am

Thanks for the info guys!

Re the inability to assign sampled loops to pads without stopping playback on the SP-555, can anyone confirm this?

That would be a serious problem, as I need seamless transitions.

Is this something that CAN be done on the other SPs?

User avatar
Zarith
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 9:19 pm
Band: Brek Zarith
Contact:

Re: On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by Zarith » Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:13 am

Did you consider the RED SOUND SoundBite PRO?

It doesn't have midi but it's a cool little live sampler.

http://www.redsound.com/products/SoundBITEPRO

the manual is here:

http://www.redsound.com/images/products ... MANUAL.pdf

User avatar
translucencecs
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 6:01 am
Gear: In a transitional phase, so only:
Yamaha SY-22
Roland MC-09
Roland M-VS1
Zoom ST-224
Dubreq Stylophone
Fostex MR8
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by translucencecs » Thu Sep 30, 2010 11:43 am

Did you consider the RED SOUND SoundBite PRO?

It doesn't have midi but it's a cool little live sampler.
Unfortunately not - it has to have MIDI as I'm intending to sync other MIDI gear to it automatically...

masstronaut
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 10:26 pm

Re: On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by masstronaut » Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:05 pm

translucencecs wrote:Re the inability to assign sampled loops to pads without stopping playback on the SP-555, can anyone confirm this?

That would be a serious problem, as I need seamless transitions.
Yeah I'd like to know for sure too. Can't recall where I read this, might have been on this very forum, or it might not...

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by Hugo76 » Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:59 pm

You may want to consider Elektron's Octatrack, due for release this year. Don't know if it'll be capable of doing what you want, but it may seem so;
http://www.elektron.se/products/octatrack

User avatar
translucencecs
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 6:01 am
Gear: In a transitional phase, so only:
Yamaha SY-22
Roland MC-09
Roland M-VS1
Zoom ST-224
Dubreq Stylophone
Fostex MR8
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by translucencecs » Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:48 pm

So...

Potentially KP3, Kaossilator Pro, EHX 2880 or Octatrack (which I doubt very much that I'll be able to afford/justify!).

Looks like I'll probably need a couple of 4-track loopers then, unless someone know whether any or all of the Boss SP-series are able to assign sampled loops to pads without stopping playback..? Anyone?

Also, does anyone know if any or all of these are "first-bar-aware"? - i.e. able to arm/synchronised-start recording to the first beat of a bar? Again, I know the Roland MC-09 does this but it's a bit limited for my requirements.

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by Hugo76 » Wed Oct 06, 2010 9:37 pm

Hmm, I don't think the SP units are the way to go for sampling and auto looping on the fly. My experience with them is mainly the SP-606, but I don't think the other units have significant different operation. The KP3 would probably be a great option, Check out this excellent video by Denkitribe demonstrating song creation on the fly (KP3 + Kaossilator):

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5808
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: On-the-fly Phrase Sampling/Looping

Post by meatballfulton » Thu Oct 07, 2010 5:54 pm

I stand corrected, I though the Kaossilator Pro could only sample it's internal sounds, guess it can in fact do external audio. You can also preload loops. There is an issue with MIDI clock sync, the loops will follow tempo (with pitch shifting) but not song position.

This Korg video shows how it works:

I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

Post Reply