Page 2 of 3

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Sat Oct 02, 2010 3:00 am
by roon
GameChanger wrote:I think Ensoniq's might be more expensive thou in Poland then here in the states were they were made.
Actually,there's an eps16 keybord for $300, so it's like a week of limited cigarettes consumption for me (1 pack per day instead of 2...) + price of s900/s2000. I'll concder it for my second sampler, thanks! For now i'll go with s900 I think. Tommorow is the day :P

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Sat Oct 02, 2010 11:15 pm
by madtheory
GameChanger wrote:No sure why some people try to push sampling on there computer.
It's a matter of opinion. Just choose the tool that works for you, it's all about the music.

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 4:56 pm
by GameChanger
madtheory wrote:
GameChanger wrote:No sure why some people try to push sampling on there computer.
It's a matter of opinion. Just choose the tool that works for you, it's all about the music.
I agree 100%, thats why I hate when people say "why would you even try to get a s2000, etc..., Just use your computer" people don't realize there is no right or wrong way to make music, people have preferences, and using hardware is one of them.

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 6:18 pm
by Hair
GameChanger wrote:
madtheory wrote:
GameChanger wrote:No sure why some people try to push sampling on there computer.
It's a matter of opinion. Just choose the tool that works for you, it's all about the music.
I agree 100%, thats why I hate when people say "why would you even try to get a s2000, etc..., Just use your computer" people don't realize there is no right or wrong way to make music, people have preferences, and using hardware is one of them.
Not to get even deeper into this, but it is fair to compare later-era hardware samplers to computers isn't it? If an S2000 is tricky to use with comparable sound quality to my computer, I'd be happy to stare at a computer screen for a while. I could see an S5000 or S6000 being a different story though..

Conversely, I love hardware samplers which are inspiring to work with. I have an S612 which is a blast because of how immediate it is and how cool it sounds, even if you can only have one sample in memory. I also have an SP-505 which is great fun when I do need to get away from the computer. I'd love an SP-1200 or an MPC60 (or an S950 or an MPC-1000 w/jjOS) - but if I want realistic multisampled instruments etc, the computer has been a million times easier for me so far.

Bottom line: of course it does come down to preference, for full-quality sampling I usually prefer the computer - no memory limitations, quick load times and no tiny 2-line displays for a zillion menus - but for dirty, old-school, fun sampling, I'm all about hardware!

Roon, I'm excited to hear how you like the S900! It seems like it would go well with the EMX (which's sequencing is monophonic per part, isn't it? - so memory shouldn't be a huge downer)

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 6:35 pm
by madtheory
Hair wrote:Not to get even deeper into this, but it is fair to compare later-era hardware samplers to computers isn't it? If an S2000 is tricky to use with comparable sound quality to my computer
Yes, it's a reasonable comparison. Although I would contend that the ESI4000 has a warm sound to it that is still useable even with the digital outs, whereas the S2000 is too compromised. The Akai S5000 and 6000 etc. have a great sound and a great UI though.

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 8:12 pm
by colmon
tx16w seconded. has a bad rep because of the original yamaha os, but with the (free) typhoon os i find it more straightforward and fun to use than even computer sampling

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 9:02 pm
by AndyCrystal
GameChanger is right. S2000 is the way to go especially given the style of music you're doing.
Bear in mind that the s2000 has been misused* for a long time (*used only for ripping beats and drums which is ALL BUT LIMITED) S2000 is a real empty synthesizer allowing you to do great things! "Get a powerful computer and you'll get better results" NO WAY! Hardare can only be approximated by software. This is inevitable. CPUs are faster not sonically better at sampling! I have an s2000 for sampling at 16bit and other stuff for lower rates. And it's dead easy to use come on don't be silly.
Oh.. and s5000 and 6000 sound like c**p compared to the s2000 (which features excellent filters)

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:36 pm
by madtheory
Ah, OK, so what samplers have you used apart from the S2000, and have you really used an S5/6000?

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:51 pm
by AndyCrystal
Roland S330,550, EII, S2000, s5/6000, s1100, Emax. But it's not about the topic. I'd go s2000 over s950. That's all. It's about my tastes. Is that even a problem?
Peace.

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 1:32 pm
by madtheory
No problem, just to be aware of the specific reasons for choosing either one. The S950 is more coloured sounding than the S2000, and operates in the same way, which some find frustrating. The S2000 has more memory and has a much less coloured sound- which is why the computer is recommended by some.

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:49 am
by D-Collector
Unless you use a computer editor, the S2000 is very tedious to edit. I think someone described it earlier as "trying to fish out the keys through the mailslot".

Indeed that was my experience when I owned one.

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 5:10 pm
by paugui
roon wrote:
novielo wrote: i didn't go for the s2000 because of the display, it's so small! i would go for the s900 or maybe a mpc500. same small display but at least in the s900 you have sound character. the big advantage of the mpc500 is that it can communicate without any frills with modern computer. with the s900 you will need scsi.

i went for a s6000 and i don't regret it. but i'm thinking of changing it and my mpc1000 for a mpc5000, to have device in the same machine.
Sadly, MPC500 is well out of my price range at the moment (I'm from Poland, a place where used MPC500 cost $500 minimum, and the new one about $800-$900. As a matter of fact, s2000, s900 and ESI4000 cost $250 each, which is like 2-3 times more than in the US, as far as I know.) And if I would have that sort of money on me, I would get s900 *and* s2000. The other thing speaking against MPC is that I've just bought KORG EMX1 and adding MPC to the mix seems to me a little, I don't know, wrong somehow. Plus, all the bad things I heard about MPC500... Nah.
Hair wrote:If you're working with a computer, I'd say you can do the full quality sampling stuff using a software sampler or similar, no? What software do you use? You might not get much more out of a hardware unit unless it's got mojo like the s900 (also worth mentioning that if you can find one, the s950 has the same sound but adds some other stuff I believe)
The thing is, I want to get out from software sampling - I am bored to death with it. And also that sampler in question will be put to work with EMX1 in a computerless environment to the some extend. Those are the two reasons why I want to get a hardware sampler. Originaly, I was looking specifically for the s950, but it's quite rare piece in Poland (in which I do live), practically unavilable. And ordering from the states it's not an option unfortunatelly, cause shipping will cost me close or even more than hardware itself (over $120) plus customs etc...:/
Why don't you order from within the European Union?
In Germany I bet you can find much better prices than the ones you mentioned and no customs.
And I bet shipping won't be that bad either...

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 1:48 am
by thething
Cleaning out my closet .... found a whole box of TX 16 W Sample Disks 200-300, also memory boards and other stuff. Available to anyone who can put it to good use. Pay shipping and $50 it is yours.

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:02 am
by colmon
novielo wrote:
or go cheaper and find a s612 for the grit? it's very usefull also as a preamp for guitar.
this has intrigued me (the guitar bit) -- care to elaborate?

Re: Akai's s900 or s2000

Posted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:06 am
by colmon
heh, i'd probably buy that memory board if you weren't selling it for twice as much as the sampler actually cost me