Which Roland S sampler??

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 2889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines
Contact:

Re: Which Roland S sampler??

Post by nathanscribe » Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:16 pm

As far as I know, it's pretty much the same as the S-330 with Director-S built in, a better display (but no external monitor support) and the keys. The library is pretty good, if skewed towards orchestral instruments (unsurprisingly) and I prefer the sound of it to the Akais I've had. I keep the W-30 along with an Ensoniq Mirage - a good pair for characterful sampling.

User avatar
D-Collector
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Which Roland S sampler??

Post by D-Collector » Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:33 pm

I thought it had the sequencer of the Roland MC-500?

User avatar
iphoenix
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:49 am
Real name: Paul
Location: Ireland

Re: Which Roland S sampler??

Post by iphoenix » Mon May 30, 2011 3:33 am

D-Collector wrote:I thought it had the sequencer of the Roland MC-500?
Thats correct . Its actually the MC50 I think, a more updated version of the MC500 . My W30 manual says that the MC500 data ( song files etc) is fully compatable with the W30, but it doesnt actually say which of the sequencers it is actually based on. It may also be the Super MRC, but its definitly one of the 3, which are pretty much the same thing anyway.

User avatar
nathanscribe
VSE Review Contributor
VSE Review Contributor
Posts: 2889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:03 pm
Location: The right side of the Pennines
Contact:

Re: Which Roland S sampler??

Post by nathanscribe » Mon May 30, 2011 12:25 pm

My mistake. The W30 has "Super MRC style sequencing" according to the manual, which would place it with the MC-500/300/50.

It is compatible with Director-S files though, which is where I got my wires crossed I think.

User avatar
Ricoche
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 5:16 am
Real name: Jim
Gear: All kinds of Yamaha, Roland, and Korg Gear
Band: Jim Atwood
Location: Nagano City, JAPAN
Contact:

Re: Which Roland S sampler??

Post by Ricoche » Sat Jun 04, 2011 1:12 am

I have the Roland S-330, W-30, and S-760. I use them all quite a bit with the Roland W-30 getting used the most. Recently I hooked up the HxC Floppy Disk Emulator to the S-330 and W-30. They both boot up nicely now and can swap floppy images easily. It makes the S-330/W-30 a bit easier to work with and I don't have to worry about that S-330 Floppy drive failing on me and not being able to find a replacement. Great samplers!

User avatar
D-Collector
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:01 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Which Roland S sampler??

Post by D-Collector » Sat Jun 04, 2011 6:32 am

Hi, nice too see you signed up here as well!

User avatar
iphoenix
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:49 am
Real name: Paul
Location: Ireland

Re: Which Roland S sampler??

Post by iphoenix » Mon Aug 22, 2011 4:13 am

Ricoche wrote:I have the Roland S-330, W-30, and S-760. I use them all quite a bit with the Roland W-30 getting used the most. Recently I hooked up the HxC Floppy Disk Emulator to the S-330 and W-30. They both boot up nicely now and can swap floppy images easily. It makes the S-330/W-30 a bit easier to work with and I don't have to worry about that S-330 Floppy drive failing on me and not being able to find a replacement. Great samplers!

Hi Jim,
How does the HxC Floppy Disc Emulator work with the W30?
My W30 has been out of action for about 7 years or so because the floppy drive failed & no-one seems to be able to fix it unfortunately.
Id love to get it working again.

Post Reply