Which sampler am I looking for?

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
blackadder
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:40 am

Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by blackadder » Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:59 am

Im planning on buying a monotribe and a cheap sampler. I want to be able to record short synth-parts from the monotribe onto the sampler, so I can layer them and arrange them into songs on the sampler. The sampler will also have to play the part of drum machine.

It seems like the old electribe es-1 might fit the bill nicely, but I have never used hardware samplers before, so I dont really know.

Any reccomendations?

User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2769
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Subliminal Sea
Location: Exton/ westchester
Contact:

Re: Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by ninja6485 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 5:25 am

I really like the Roland s series. Storage can be a pain in the a*s, but they're pretty damn powerful for the price. The s1000 can apply 8 loop points...8! No sequencer though... Luckily hardware sequencers are cheap too. The question is, can you get a rack sampler and sequencer combo for less than an electribe? Also, what about the akai s- 20?
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by Stab Frenzy » Sat Oct 08, 2011 5:44 am

blackadder wrote:Im planning on buying a monotribe and a cheap sampler. I want to be able to record short synth-parts from the monotribe onto the sampler, so I can layer them and arrange them into songs on the sampler. The sampler will also have to play the part of drum machine.

It seems like the old electribe es-1 might fit the bill nicely, but I have never used hardware samplers before, so I dont really know.

Any reccomendations?
An Akai MPC would be perfect for that, or a Roland SP-404SX. The MPC has a better sequencer so would be better at being a drum machine and it's easier to have different tracks of samples that you can bring in and out. The 404 has better effects built in but it's harder to edit what you've done to make whole tracks on it. If you click with how it works and spend the time getting to learn how it works it could be great though. Would probably be cheaper than an MPC too, although you should be able to get a 2000XL cheaply and upgrade the disk drive to a flash drive. The 404 has more memory than an MPC as well, it reads straight off the card so you can chuck a 2GB card in there and have 2GB of memory ready to go, whereas with MPCs you have less memory and need to manually save and load things to a card/drive/disk. I've owned a couple of MPCs and a 404 so I'm speaking from experience.

Haven't used an ES-1 but I did have an ESX-1 for a while and I imagine they're fairly similar in how they work. I found the ESX was a really good drum machine, but for sampling stuff and layering it it wasn't so good. Didn't have enough sample slots to do really complicated stuff.

I would not be recommending a rack sampler for what you want to do, I used to use an Akai S2000 for similar stuff and while it can be done it's infinitely easier to use something like an MPC/404/ES which has an interface designed for playing with.

I think in your position you should be thinking SP-404SX if you want cheaper, more fun, good effects or MPC1000 if you want better sequencer, more complex song structures. MPC2500 is even better if you can stretch your budget that far. Whichever you decide to go with get a lot out of it it you read the manual and put the time in to learning all the capabilities of the machine rather than just skimming the surface.

blackadder
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:40 am

Re: Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by blackadder » Sat Oct 08, 2011 9:27 am

Thanks guys!

Ninja6485: Im trying to keep this setup as immediate and simple as possible, so I'll be needing a sampler with an integrated sequencer.

Stab Frenzy: Ive been considering an SP404 or SP303, however, I keep reading that the sequencer is pretty cumbersome to use. As stated above, Im looking for immediacy and ease of use. How did you like the sequencer?

Regarding the electribe being poor at complex layered arrangements; the ES1, from what I gather, has 12 part polyphony (10 one shots, 1 slice and 1 audio in) and 95 sec. sampling time in mono. If Im not misunderstanding anything, this means I'll be able to play back 10 samples at the same time? I think that would be sufficient for my needs, as Im not planning to do any overly complex arrangements right now.

I think the MPCs are a bit out of my price range.

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1433
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by Hugo76 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 1:01 pm

You might want to check out the Roland SP-606: it has some great effects, and two simultaneous effect blocks (I think the 404 only has one at a time?). The sequencer is quite allright, and I guess it's better that the one in the 404. Max sample memory is 512mb (reads samples directly from the memory card), but it uses compression, so in reality it's a lot more (which also compromises sound quality, although I haven't found anything to complain about).

Drawbacks in the 606:
- no loop crossfade (which isn't present in any of the SP samplers ananyway, afaik)
- no chromatic playback of samples (this is only present in the SP-505, afaik).
- no resampling of patterns (I think this is present only in the SP-555...?)

If any of this info is incorrect, please let us know :)

So there are pros and cons with all the SP's, I guess, but for your use I would think the 606 would fit the bill nicely.
Personally I would probably go for the 606 (well, I already have one), or Korg Electribe ESX, which have several plusses, but also some drawbacks compared to the 606.

If money is really tight, the SP-303 or SP-505 could be worth investigating.

User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2769
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Subliminal Sea
Location: Exton/ westchester
Contact:

Re: Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by ninja6485 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:20 pm

Have you considered an Emu command station?
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3876
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by Ashe37 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 9:32 pm

ninja6485 wrote:Have you considered an Emu command station?
Command station =/= sampler.

User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2769
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Subliminal Sea
Location: Exton/ westchester
Contact:

Re: Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by ninja6485 » Sun Oct 09, 2011 2:12 am

oh i guess your right, just a rompler then? for some reason i thought it could sample...never mind then! :lol:
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...

blackadder
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:40 am

Re: Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by blackadder » Sun Oct 09, 2011 6:47 am

Thanks for your input, everyone. After reading through some manuals and countless youtube videos, Ive decided to go for a SP404.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Re: Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by Stab Frenzy » Sun Oct 09, 2011 8:59 am

Make sure you get the 404SX, not the regular 404. The improvements between them are worth the difference in price.

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 710
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by gmeredith » Sun Oct 09, 2011 11:54 pm

Command station =/= sampler
They can't sample as such, meaning, "plug in a microphone or synth and start recording" but they can load your own sounds - if you buy the additional Flash RAM cards (16MB or 32MB). But to load the Flash RAM cards, you will need an Emu E4 ultra sampler to "burn" them in, then remove them from the E4 and install them in the command station, like a ROM card.

If you have to do all that, you may as well just buy the E4 as your sampler and be done with it :roll:

404 sounds the go.
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3876
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by Ashe37 » Mon Oct 10, 2011 12:54 am

gmeredith wrote:
Command station =/= sampler
They can't sample as such, meaning, "plug in a microphone or synth and start recording" but they can load your own sounds - if you buy the additional Flash RAM cards (16MB or 32MB). But to load the Flash RAM cards, you will need an Emu E4 ultra sampler to "burn" them in, then remove them from the E4 and install them in the command station, like a ROM card.

If you have to do all that, you may as well just buy the E4 as your sampler and be done with it :roll:

404 sounds the go.
And where can you find said Flash RAM cards?

User avatar
gridsleep
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:10 pm
Real name: Kurt
Gear: Das Vorlagengehirn
Band: Big Steam Horse
Location: the Hudson Valley
Contact:

Re: Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by gridsleep » Mon Oct 10, 2011 5:46 am

Is the sampler in the Korg Triton Rack equivalent, in audio quality at least, to the E-mu E4X Turbo? I have the Korg and I have my eye on an E-mu. There's also an E-mu E4 Platinum, but that's a bit out of my budget, for now. Why do these things always become available when they are not obtainable? It's like a bad joke.
Nymph, in thy orisons be all my synths remembered.

User avatar
gmeredith
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 710
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:06 am
Band: Warning Will Robinson
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by gmeredith » Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:31 am

And where can you find said Flash RAM cards?
Here:

http://www.theavenuesinstruments.com/pa ... 686662.htm

or ebay, from time to time. Or the Emusonacid forum, they sometimes have them for sale.

The point I was making was that there was little point in going down that path when you need a sampler anyway to do the command station sample RAM flashing. Just get the sampler instead of the command station. Or an SP404.
Casio: FZ1, CZ101, PG380, VZ10M, SK8, SK60, RAP10, DP1 drums, DH100, CDP200, DM100
Yamaha: TX81z, TX802, SHS10, DTXv2
Roland: SH101, DR660, MS1, PM16, TR33
Others: Korg MicroKontrol, ES-1, Alesis MMT8, Emu ESi2000 & card reader, BCR2000, V-Machine

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3876
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Which sampler am I looking for?

Post by Ashe37 » Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:47 am

wow, wish i'd found that before selling my e6400

Post Reply