Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.

Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

Postby Silverfish » Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:49 am

Hey everyone-

I recently picked up a Yamaha A4000 sampler. It has a zip disk drive installed, and I'm really not a fan of zip disks. Can the A4000 use a standard IDE card reader, or does it have to be SCSI?

thanks for your help!
User avatar
Silverfish
Junior Member
Junior Member
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Calgary, AB
Real name: Tyler
Band: Silverfish

Re: Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

Postby Stafftunes » Tue Apr 30, 2013 3:54 pm

I'm not 100% sure to be honest. There was some mention on the old A4000/5000 yahoo group about it, I think you needed an ide/scsi convertor so you could use an IDE reader with the Scsi interface. This gave me the impression at the time that ide card readers wouldn't work on the A4k's ide interface. I could be wrong.

I been waiting/searching/trying for years to sort out a card reader for my A4k, the hdd I got in there right now is noisey as h**l.

I love my A4k, so very tweakable, it's great.
Stafftunes
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:46 pm
Location: UK
Real name: Staff
Gear: Jupiter 6, JX-3P, Nord Rack 2, Blofeld, TX81z,JV2080, RY30, A4000, SK30 + Misc stuff
Band: Stafftunes

Re: Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

Postby b3groover » Tue Apr 30, 2013 6:54 pm

It needs to be SCSI. They are available on eBay now and again. I have a compact flash SCSI card reader installed on my EX5r. Far superior than ZIP.
User avatar
b3groover
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 965
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:41 am
Location: Lansing, MI
Real name: Jim
Band: THEO

Re: Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

Postby Paul Dorrough » Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:43 pm

Theoretically you should be able to substitute an IDE card reader in place of the ZIP drive however, Yamaha series samplers were designed to support floppy\zip technology and may not recognize a card reader, however I’d be curious to know if it works. I use Sound Forge 7.0 to transfer samples via SMDI from my PC to the A4000. This set-up only works in Windows XP…Vista, Win7, 8.1 & 10 don’t support the ASPI layer required for SCSI to communicate with the sampler... it only generates an error message that reads “SCSI adapter or sampler is set to none”

Set the Yamaha A4000 to SCSI I.D 1 - SCSI PCI card automatically defaults to 7 – in ‘Utility” turn off the A4000 bulk protect and you’re set.
Paul Dorrough
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:33 pm


Return to Samplers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests