Page 1 of 1

Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:49 am
by Silverfish
Hey everyone-

I recently picked up a Yamaha A4000 sampler. It has a zip disk drive installed, and I'm really not a fan of zip disks. Can the A4000 use a standard IDE card reader, or does it have to be SCSI?

thanks for your help!

Re: Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 3:54 pm
by Stafftunes
I'm not 100% sure to be honest. There was some mention on the old A4000/5000 yahoo group about it, I think you needed an ide/scsi convertor so you could use an IDE reader with the Scsi interface. This gave me the impression at the time that ide card readers wouldn't work on the A4k's ide interface. I could be wrong.

I been waiting/searching/trying for years to sort out a card reader for my A4k, the hdd I got in there right now is noisey as h**l.

I love my A4k, so very tweakable, it's great.

Re: Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 6:54 pm
by b3groover
It needs to be SCSI. They are available on eBay now and again. I have a compact flash SCSI card reader installed on my EX5r. Far superior than ZIP.

Re: Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:43 pm
by Paul Dorrough
Theoretically you should be able to substitute an IDE card reader in place of the ZIP drive however, Yamaha series samplers were designed to support floppy\zip technology and may not recognize a card reader, however I’d be curious to know if it works. I use Sound Forge 7.0 to transfer samples via SMDI from my PC to the A4000. This set-up only works in Windows XP…Vista, Win7, 8.1 & 10 don’t support the ASPI layer required for SCSI to communicate with the sampler... it only generates an error message that reads “SCSI adapter or sampler is set to none”

Set the Yamaha A4000 to SCSI I.D 1 - SCSI PCI card automatically defaults to 7 – in ‘Utility” turn off the A4000 bulk protect and you’re set.

Re: Yamaha A4000 Card Reader?

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 9:56 pm
by clockdivider2
Yes it's doable, easy and cheap with a $3 IDE reader. The magic key for me was a 4gb Transcend 133x card from ebay; an old 256mb CF card did NOT work. Details here:

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/showpos ... stcount=28

Now can anyone here explain why my A4000 hangs and needs to be power cycled when I try to scroll through the effects?