Page 1 of 1

Question for other Akai S5000 users

Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:11 am
by gcoudert
Hi!

The output board on my S5000 has just died and I am about to buy a working S5000 as a replacement. I was wondering whether I could take the working, factory-installed 64-voice card out of the original sampler and put it in the expansion slot of the new one. The board socket on the PCB is the same. Would that give me 128 voices? Thanks.

Gilles

Re: Question for other Akai S5000 users

Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:03 am
by splitpoint
I have a 128 voice s6000 and both voice cards look the same. I'd say you should be fine.

Re: Question for other Akai S5000 users

Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:56 am
by gcoudert
Thanks! I'll give it a try. I should get the sampler today or tomorrow.

Re: Question for other Akai S5000 users

Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2014 7:30 pm
by gcoudert
OK, I've done it. I can confirm that it works. I am now the proud owner of a 128-voice Akai S5000. If I was certain that it's not the output board that's gone on the original sampler, I might try putting that in the new one to get 16 outs...

Re: Question for other Akai S5000 users

Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 7:22 pm
by gcoudert
I have now transplanted the partially faulty output board from the old sampler to the new one. Outputs 9+10 (formerly 1+2) don't work but the others do. I am now the proud ownder of a 128-voice, 14-output, 256Mb RAM, 36Gb internal HD S5000! I really must get that USB card...

Re: Question for other Akai S5000 users

Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 7:25 pm
by Ashe37
gcoudert wrote:I have now transplanted the partially faulty output board from the old sampler to the new one. Outputs 9+10 (formerly 1+2) don't work but the others do. I am now the proud ownder of a 128-voice, 14-output, 256Mb RAM, 36Gb internal HD S5000! I really must get that USB card...
What OS are you running on your computer?

Re: Question for other Akai S5000 users

Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 10:34 pm
by gcoudert
Ashe37 wrote:
gcoudert wrote:I have now transplanted the partially faulty output board from the old sampler to the new one. Outputs 9+10 (formerly 1+2) don't work but the others do. I am now the proud ownder of a 128-voice, 14-output, 256Mb RAM, 36Gb internal HD S5000! I really must get that USB card...
What OS are you running on your computer?
WinXP :oops: ! Why?

Re: Question for other Akai S5000 users

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 12:48 am
by meatballfulton
USB driver support should be OK for WinXP.

Re: Question for other Akai S5000 users

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2014 12:49 am
by Ashe37
ok, long as its 32-bit ak.sys and the usb drivers will work.