Page 2 of 2

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 10:13 am
by ellaguru
mustachesweat wrote:So I'm torn, for a French Touch approach, Roland S-760? or Akai MFC42?
i don't know well the MCF42, but the 760 filters are very well for the french touch (plus a cheap alesis 3630 ehehe)...

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:13 am
by max badwan
mustachesweat wrote:So I'm torn, for a French Touch approach, Roland S-760? or Akai MFC42?
-Filter reasons: I have yet to find anything on controlling 760's filters with midi so the idea of working with the buttons is not appealing. But the sound of it is almost justifiable. Akai's got dem big knobs, but quality wise how is the filter compared to Roland? I choose the MFC42 out of other filters because it's in the low-mid price range, I can't financially consider a Mutator. Plus having a nice filter for all my equipment sounds more appealing.
-Sampler reasons: I'm willing to learn S-760's parameters and invest in a usb floppy drive to import samples from Mac (that is all personal theory, don't know if that will work) but having a sample ready in Ableton then processing with an Akai MFC42 seems easier. Only worry though, is if bit-wise (or filter-wise) sound quality will be less French. I read earlier that the S-760 can record on a stop basis, as in the last 30 seconds played will be recorded instead of worrying about the starting point and end.
The S-760 has a complete sysex specification - so any programmable controller that can output sysex can control it in detail, and yes, it pre-records.

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 7:20 pm
by mustachesweat
Thanks guys! S-760's are going cheaper than MFC42's anyways.

What about the Mac usb floppy drive theory?

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 10:06 pm
by max badwan
mustachesweat wrote:Thanks guys! S-760's are going cheaper than MFC42's anyways.

What about the Mac usb floppy drive theory?
In theory it should work, but I've never tried it - but the file format is propriety, so it might not be straightforward. I use a SCSI CD/HD tower, so I'm not sure. I'd be more inclined to sample using the spdif inputs (assuming the OP-760 is present) than using the floppy to transfer. Get a Zipdrive.
Hope that helps!

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:02 pm
by Userfriend
Sorry if I´m a bit offtopic but concerning the S7XX-series there are some things I´ve been wondering about. Do they have glide/portamento? and stack voices? there is nothing in the manual about that (I know the Roland manuals explanation was a weak point).

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 10:34 pm
by max badwan
Userfriend wrote:Sorry if I´m a bit offtopic but concerning the S7XX-series there are some things I´ve been wondering about. Do they have glide/portamento? and stack voices? there is nothing in the manual about that (I know the Roland manuals explanation was a weak point).
Portamento - not sure.
Voice stacking - a partial can have up to 4 samples (4 mono/2 stereo), and you can stack up to 32 patches in a performance.