Page 1 of 2

Roland S760

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 11:48 pm
by Rumbler101
How did this sampler work? Did it work via MIDI triggers from a MIDI keyboard to play certain samples such as an Akai S900?

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 12:00 am
by max badwan
pretty much

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2014 9:48 pm
by skunk3
Yes, it can work that way. Most samplers do.

However, the S760 is a pain in the a*s to use IMO. It sounds really nice and has great (!) filters, but it's such a drag to use that I sold mine. I pretty much feel like hardware samplers are a thing of the past unless you SPECIFICALLY need something older for 'that sound,' or if you're exploring the weirder side of sampling a la V-Synth, Octatrack, EPS-16+, etc. Otherwise, it makes sooooo much more sense to do your sampling in a DAW. Faster, easier, sounds cleaner.

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Thu May 01, 2014 10:27 am
by madtheory
I agree that hardware samplers are a thing of the past, but I wouldn't lump the V-Synth in there. What it does is unique- no other sampler, hardware or software, can do what it does. Yes it's basically just timestretching, but implemented in a unique way. Nothing else sounds like it.

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Thu May 01, 2014 11:35 pm
by Rumbler101
Cheers guys. Did these samplers have their own internal sequencers or did they have to be controlled via an external sequencer?

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 2:55 am
by synthroom
External sequencer (or any MIDI controller or keyboard) for the S-760.

There were the pinnacle of samplers when they came out. They were used by many of the top film composers, who often had racks full of them - I've read that Hans Zimmer had over 30 Roland S-760s. I own one that was purported to have belonged to Basil Poledouris, who I was told had 24 of them.

That said, software samplers are certainly going to be easier to work with...

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Fri May 02, 2014 5:01 pm
by micahjonhughes
If you have the mouse and a monitor, the S-760 is not bad to work with. Most importantly, it sounds good. If you want to work with hardware, its a good way to go.

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Sat May 03, 2014 4:14 am
by Rumbler101
Are there any MIDI keyboards that have sequencers built in? If there aren't any what type of sequencer would I use to connect the sequencer to the keyboard and to the sampler. Perhaps this is asking for too much help but where how would the sequencer connect to the keyboard and how would the keyboard connect to the sampler?

Thank you.

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Mon May 05, 2014 9:47 am
by ellaguru
skunk3 wrote: However, the S760 is a pain in the a*s to use IMO. It sounds really nice and has great (!) filters
ah that sounds sad...i like the filters on this beast...is it really that difficult to use this machine?

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Mon May 05, 2014 1:51 pm
by Synthetech
It's that scsi drive use for extended storage that would drive me nuts.

I tried dealing with that 2nd gen. SCSI it uses on a AKAI S2000XL and it was a huge headache.. The AKAI sounded great, but when I got turned on to Kontakt, I realized I had the same sound in a MUCH easier work flow with seemingly endless features.

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Mon May 05, 2014 8:08 pm
by synthroom
SCSI can be a pain! But it's also a lot better nowadays with say a Win XP box than it was with a Win 3.1 box.

I've got an array of both SCSI and USB Zip 100MB and 250MB and Jaz 1GB and 2GB drives, and a couple SyQuest drives that came with some disk collections I've bought, and every thing works pretty well and without any pain.

I think part of the trick is to have a drive on your computer (either a SCSI or USB connection) as well so that you can make backups and not loose everything when a disk or drive fails. Pretty much like you'd do for any computer.

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 5:04 am
by ninja6485
I wouldn't say hardware samplers are a thing of the past. I use them instead of a DAW, I think they're great. I did Sea Glass on an s2000 in the march VSE competition. I started sampling on Kontakt way back when (And NI battery!), but I had some problems with using a computer in conjuntion with my other hardware. I couldn't get Kontakt to work as well as my hardware in a live playback situation, and the sound character of old samplers had the edge I was looking for. Where it shines is in the workflow of sample mangling, so if you're in a situation where you just want to manipulate audio and then import it and use it in your DAW, it works perfectly. I like connecting my hadware sequencers to the sampler, and when you have 8-16 tracks of sequenced audio coming out in layers, the rack samplers have given me much less of a headache! Nothing stutters, nothing cuts out when it shouldn't cut out, nothing fails to trigger, and when a loop triggers, it trigger in perfect time with the other loops, and I don't get the hum of my computers power supply. The hardware is just quite, cool, and stable. I look back fondly at the stuff I did on Kontakt, although when maschine cam out I didn't look back. I mostly use the software as a compositional sketch pad/ mangling environment now, and will sometimes mix a section down and then move it to my hardware samplers to carry it the rest of the way.

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 5:42 pm
by meatballfulton
Rumbler101 wrote:Are there any MIDI keyboards that have sequencers built in?
Yes, quite a few. I don't know of any controllers with onboard sequencers, but plenty of synthesizers and samplers have onboard sequencing. Anything sold as a "workstation" has a sequencer.
If there aren't any what type of sequencer would I use to connect the sequencer to the keyboard and to the sampler. Perhaps this is asking for too much help but where how would the sequencer connect to the keyboard and how would the keyboard connect to the sampler?
There are no more linear (song based) hardware MIDI sequencers in production. Used ones to look out for are the Roland MC50, MC300 and MC500 and the Alesis MMT-8. Yamaha, Korg and Kawai all made sequencers as well but those are considered to be inferior in general to Roland and Alesis. Keep in mind that any of these will be at least 15 years old, if not much older.

There are many step sequencers on the market, but not all are designed for use with MIDI.

Connection is simple: keyboard MIDI out to sequencer MIDI in, sequencer MIDI out to sampler MIDI in. Most sequencers have a "play through" mode when you just want to play the sampler.

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Fri May 16, 2014 2:53 am
by Rumbler101
Thanks guys.

Re: Roland S760

Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2014 8:32 am
by mustachesweat
So I'm torn, for a French Touch approach, Roland S-760? or Akai MFC42?
-Filter reasons: I have yet to find anything on controlling 760's filters with midi so the idea of working with the buttons is not appealing. But the sound of it is almost justifiable. Akai's got dem big knobs, but quality wise how is the filter compared to Roland? I choose the MFC42 out of other filters because it's in the low-mid price range, I can't financially consider a Mutator. Plus having a nice filter for all my equipment sounds more appealing.
-Sampler reasons: I'm willing to learn S-760's parameters and invest in a usb floppy drive to import samples from Mac (that is all personal theory, don't know if that will work) but having a sample ready in Ableton then processing with an Akai MFC42 seems easier. Only worry though, is if bit-wise (or filter-wise) sound quality will be less French. I read earlier that the S-760 can record on a stop basis, as in the last 30 seconds played will be recorded instead of worrying about the starting point and end.