Volca Sample

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
User avatar
sequentialsoftshock
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2413
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:57 am
Real name: Zayne
Gear: Pro~One, MS20, MPC60, Aalto, Volca Beats, Volca Keys, Beatstep, Casio MT18, BitOne (sorta), Circle, Orbit 3, K5, Stylos, Univox Hi Flier, iPad
Band: Echo & Liora
Location: Paris / Philadelphia
Contact:

Volca Sample

Post by sequentialsoftshock » Thu Sep 04, 2014 3:34 am

Holy s**t guys !!!!! It's real.

http://www.korg.com/us/products/dj/volca_sample/
bonne chance

User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2766
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Lyra, The Sun Worshipers
Location: Exton/ westchester

Re: Volca Sample

Post by ninja6485 » Thu Sep 04, 2014 3:40 am

"*Sample input only possible via special iOS app"
:(
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...

User avatar
sequentialsoftshock
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2413
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:57 am
Real name: Zayne
Gear: Pro~One, MS20, MPC60, Aalto, Volca Beats, Volca Keys, Beatstep, Casio MT18, BitOne (sorta), Circle, Orbit 3, K5, Stylos, Univox Hi Flier, iPad
Band: Echo & Liora
Location: Paris / Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: Volca Sample

Post by sequentialsoftshock » Thu Sep 04, 2014 4:49 am

Not a problem for me, but it is a bit weird. I'd love to see an input, but the A/D chip might raise the price beyond their selling point. Though I don't see why they can't implement desktops and android.
bonne chance

ellaguru
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 1:56 pm
Gear: juno106 korg ms20 roland vsynth yamaha an200 yamaha tx81z boss sp303 boss sp505 roland sp606 roland mc909 zoom st224

Re: Volca Sample

Post by ellaguru » Thu Sep 04, 2014 3:00 pm

ninja6485 wrote:"*Sample input only possible via special iOS app"
:(
+1
wtf is this???
plus
i see only midi in???
:roll: :?: :!:

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5773
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Live 9, Logic Pro X

Re: Volca Sample

Post by meatballfulton » Thu Sep 04, 2014 5:02 pm

MIDI IN only just like other Volcas.

The iOS app is probably some wireless thing, Korg's website mentions being able to clock sync wirelessly.

Computers are so 20th century, dood :shock:
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

User avatar
sequentialsoftshock
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2413
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:57 am
Real name: Zayne
Gear: Pro~One, MS20, MPC60, Aalto, Volca Beats, Volca Keys, Beatstep, Casio MT18, BitOne (sorta), Circle, Orbit 3, K5, Stylos, Univox Hi Flier, iPad
Band: Echo & Liora
Location: Paris / Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: Volca Sample

Post by sequentialsoftshock » Thu Sep 04, 2014 5:46 pm

Also, as small as this is, and the screen is, I really don't see it working all that great as a sampler itself. I think it is designed more to load some nice samples then just tweak the h**l out of them.

Not that I wouldn't love for it to have a sampling ability. OH s**t how dope would it be if it used the iPhone or iPads screen to adjust the samples you took on the box itself ?!
bonne chance

mute
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Volca Sample

Post by mute » Thu Sep 04, 2014 8:54 pm

Korg needs to get with it... I didn't even know people still bought iOS devices.

</troll>

User avatar
sequentialsoftshock
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2413
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:57 am
Real name: Zayne
Gear: Pro~One, MS20, MPC60, Aalto, Volca Beats, Volca Keys, Beatstep, Casio MT18, BitOne (sorta), Circle, Orbit 3, K5, Stylos, Univox Hi Flier, iPad
Band: Echo & Liora
Location: Paris / Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: Volca Sample

Post by sequentialsoftshock » Thu Sep 04, 2014 11:35 pm

mute wrote:Korg needs to get with it... I didn't even know people still bought iOS devices.

</troll>
Are you fuc... Oh you're joking. :lol:
bonne chance

User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2766
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Lyra, The Sun Worshipers
Location: Exton/ westchester

Re: Volca Sample

Post by ninja6485 » Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:22 am

Yea, it looks pretty awesome (hopefully for the same price as the other volcas) EXCEPT for that one caveat. If the app works for android as well, it's slightly better, but still kind of shitty. I wonder if it comes with software you can install on a normal computer?
sequentialsoftshock wrote:OH s**t how dope would it be if it used the iPhone or iPads screen to adjust the samples you took on the box itself ?!
Pretty freakin' dope bro :2cool: . but seriously, I think that's what it does...which is definitely cool.
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...

Hugo76
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1431
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:57 pm

Re: Volca Sample

Post by Hugo76 » Fri Sep 05, 2014 10:33 am

How do you get the samples from the iPad to the Volca?
Also, does this one have any features the electribe don't? (can't access the Korg web page for some reason...)

User avatar
shaft9000
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 2042
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:13 am
Real name: Dave
Gear: Whips chains waxes oils dildos DMT TNT the LHC, and a black rubber duckie
Band: moneymoneymoney
Location: VanNuys, CA USA
Contact:

Re: Volca Sample

Post by shaft9000 » Sun Sep 07, 2014 2:27 am

h**l, i already HAVE a stupid iPhone (for work) and i still am put off by this requirement. a card reader would have made a lot more sense.
a shame, as it sounds OK and looks like a hoot to mess with. sort of a one-trick wonder but handy and tiny.

ah well, they can't all be winners - even Korg the Mighty Midget-Magicmaker makes some blunders these days.

i guess they figured an onboard line-in IC preamp and A/D converter was too much for it. So far the public largely disagrees with that decision.
anyone want to bet on if or when we'll get a mk2 volcasample with the necessary analog i/o onboard?
2600.solus.modcan a.eurorack.cs60.JP8.Juno6.A6.sunsyn.volcakeys.jd990.tb303.x0xb0x.revolution.
999.m1am1.RY30.svc350.memotron

shaft9000.muffwiggler.com <- singles & mixtape
shaft9000.bandcamp.com <- spacemusic album
youtube.com/shaft9000 <- various synth demos and studies

User avatar
JSRockit
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 3911
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Volca Sample

Post by JSRockit » Mon Sep 08, 2014 3:16 pm

They had to make it different from the new Electribe Sampler too...
Korg Volcas / 6 x TE POs / MicroBrute / EH Space Drum & Crash Pad

moog-lover
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 7:47 pm

Re: Volca Sample

Post by moog-lover » Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:12 pm

Do you remember my dummy post looking for something like that? http://www.vintagesynth.com/forum/viewt ... 19&t=63397

User avatar
sequentialsoftshock
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2413
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 1:57 am
Real name: Zayne
Gear: Pro~One, MS20, MPC60, Aalto, Volca Beats, Volca Keys, Beatstep, Casio MT18, BitOne (sorta), Circle, Orbit 3, K5, Stylos, Univox Hi Flier, iPad
Band: Echo & Liora
Location: Paris / Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: Volca Sample

Post by sequentialsoftshock » Fri Sep 19, 2014 12:01 am

moog-lover wrote:Do you remember my dummy post looking for something like that? http://www.vintagesynth.com/forum/viewt ... 19&t=63397

I feel like in a way you were basically asking for an MPC500.

I wish I could get my hands on the Volca Sample NOW.
bonne chance

moog-lover
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 7:47 pm

Re: Volca Sample

Post by moog-lover » Mon Sep 29, 2014 5:01 pm

sequentialsoftshock wrote:
moog-lover wrote:Do you remember my dummy post looking for something like that? http://www.vintagesynth.com/forum/viewt ... 19&t=63397

I feel like in a way you were basically asking for an MPC500.

I wish I could get my hands on the Volca Sample NOW.
my words were..step sequencer x0x, with SD card, simple, minimal and portable.
if korg would just added SD card support...and not that 65 seconds in 100 available samples, transferable at modem speed ! :oops:
Last edited by moog-lover on Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply