Sampler module?

Discussions about anything related to samplers and sampling techniques.
tubesurfer6
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:14 pm

Sampler module?

Post by tubesurfer6 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 2:04 pm

I recently got the Ensoniq ESQ-1 which I like a lot and it's my only board with midi (others are all pre-midi). I think a sampler module would be a great addition and wouldn't take up much space. Sooo, where to start? I'm mostly looking for 'realistic' E-piano and Tron sounds.

If there's anything like that out there, please let me know. Thanks!

User avatar
Hyde
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:45 pm
Real name: Hyde
Gear: ASR10
EPS16
EPS
Mirage
S2000
ESI2000
SY35
SQ1+
K1000
K2000rs
Band: When Violets Turn Grey

Re: Sampler module?

Post by Hyde » Sat Nov 26, 2016 6:00 pm

You want to spend some dough or on a budget? Looking for a certain vibe or just want some good sample time? Ensoniq Mirage is an amazing sounding sampler, with limited sample time. Like 6 seconds on upper & lower. But, can be had pretty cheap. Another cheap option is Akai S2000. I picked up mine with maxed out memory for $100. 32mb, in fact. Thats twice what an ASR10 is capable of. Speaking of the ASR family, the EPS, EPS16 & the ASR, all by ensoniq, are pretty amazing samplers. EPS16 & ASR units have amazing effects, the ASR can be upgraded to 16mb, the EPS16 4mb. The ASR is pretty pricey, these days. These are just the samplers I'm familiar with. There are many more.
The nice thing about the AKAI S2000 is that it is a pretty solid unit & comes with scsi. Ive had no trouble attaching hard drives to it, unlike some of the ENSONIQ samplers(if the ensoniq has scsi option or you can find one). The bonus with ensoniq is that you are probably familiar with the operation & they all have a unique vibe to them that is unmatched. While I like my Akai, it doesnt have that distinct character of the ensoniq models. But, I can sample with out worrying too much of reaching sample time limits. The Akai does sound crisp & clean, though. Very good for accurate representation. All of the ensoniq units can be had in rack mount or keyboard.

User avatar
Hyde
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:45 pm
Real name: Hyde
Gear: ASR10
EPS16
EPS
Mirage
S2000
ESI2000
SY35
SQ1+
K1000
K2000rs
Band: When Violets Turn Grey

Re: Sampler module?

Post by Hyde » Sat Nov 26, 2016 6:06 pm

I should mention that the Mirage 6 seconds is at the lowest sample rate. It's only a couple seconds at the highest sample rate.
One last bit. Spend some time on "thedaydreamsound" youtube channel. He has some great videos covering a lot of old school samplers.

&&& if you want to start out really simple & new. Check out Bastl Microgranny. Cool little box that can sample 8bit to a small memory card. I'm going to get one eventually.

tubesurfer6
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:14 pm

Re: Sampler module?

Post by tubesurfer6 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 8:45 pm

Thanks for your reply! I'm not looking for the best sampler out there, but a decent unit with good, usable sound.

I'm buying this mainly to expand the sounds I get from my keyboards without actually getting an additional keyboad and I'm mostly interested in wurly/rhodes and mellotron sounds.

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3906
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Sampler module?

Post by Ashe37 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:15 pm

Ensoniq EPS16 module, Emu ESI 2000+ modules

Baus
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 1:56 pm

Re: Sampler module?

Post by Baus » Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:12 pm

Not want to turn this into an Ensoniq topic but.... I have yet to encounter an EPS-16 Plus unit with 4Mb of memory. It comes with 1Mb and can be expanded to 2Mb.

The Mirage has only 128kb of sample memory but... you can turn it into a 32 voice polyphonic, 16 part multi-timbral synth. You can have 8 Wavesamples of 16 pages (16x256samples), 8 Wavesamples of 32 pages (32x256samples) and 56 Waveforms of 256samples each, all residing in the Mirage at once.

These are my favorite samplers.

My question to you is: Do you really want a sampler for this? If so then I would suggest to look for one that has at least 32Mb of RAM available. Recently I downloaded a sample set that someone made of an original Mellotron. Each sound contains 35 samples in the original length of the Mellotron tapes. Each sound is about 22.5Mb in size.

What you could also look at is the Roland JD/JV/XV series of sound modules and pair it up with Roland's Vintage Synth Expansion board. JV-1080 go for good prices these days but I recommend the JV-2080 for easier editing because of the larger screen. XV-3080/5080/5050 are also good options. These units will give you E-Piano's, Wurly's, 80's E-Piano's already 'out of the box' and Mellotron Strings/Flutes/Choirs and much more when you add the Expansion Board.

This is what I know and there might be other options out there that I am not aware of.

User avatar
Hyde
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:45 pm
Real name: Hyde
Gear: ASR10
EPS16
EPS
Mirage
S2000
ESI2000
SY35
SQ1+
K1000
K2000rs
Band: When Violets Turn Grey

Re: Sampler module?

Post by Hyde » Sun Nov 27, 2016 12:27 am

Baus wrote:Not want to turn this into an Ensoniq topic but.... I have yet to encounter an EPS-16 Plus unit with 4Mb of memory. It comes with 1Mb and can be expanded to 2Mb.

The Mirage has only 128kb of sample memory but... you can turn it into a 32 voice polyphonic, 16 part multi-timbral synth. You can have 8 Wavesamples of 16 pages (16x256samples), 8 Wavesamples of 32 pages (32x256samples) and 56 Waveforms of 256samples each, all residing in the Mirage at once.

These are my favorite samplers.

My question to you is: Do you really want a sampler for this? If so then I would suggest to look for one that has at least 32Mb of RAM available. Recently I downloaded a sample set that someone made of an original Mellotron. Each sound contains 35 samples in the original length of the Mellotron tapes. Each sound is about 22.5Mb in size.

What you could also look at is the Roland JD/JV/XV series of sound modules and pair it up with Roland's Vintage Synth Expansion board. JV-1080 go for good prices these days but I recommend the JV-2080 for easier editing because of the larger screen. XV-3080/5080/5050 are also good options. These units will give you E-Piano's, Wurly's, 80's E-Piano's already 'out of the box' and Mellotron Strings/Flutes/Choirs and much more when you add the Expansion Board.

This is what I know and there might be other options out there that I am not aware of.

User avatar
Hyde
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:45 pm
Real name: Hyde
Gear: ASR10
EPS16
EPS
Mirage
S2000
ESI2000
SY35
SQ1+
K1000
K2000rs
Band: When Violets Turn Grey

Re: Sampler module?

Post by Hyde » Sun Nov 27, 2016 12:29 am

Hyde wrote:
Baus wrote:Not want to turn this into an Ensoniq topic but.... I have yet to encounter an EPS-16 Plus unit with 4Mb of memory. It comes with 1Mb and can be expanded to 2Mb.

The Mirage has only 128kb of sample memory but... you can turn it into a 32 voice polyphonic, 16 part multi-timbral synth. You can have 8 Wavesamples of 16 pages (16x256samples), 8 Wavesamples of 32 pages (32x256samples) and 56 Waveforms of 256samples each, all residing in the Mirage at once.

These are my favorite samplers.

My question to you is: Do you really want a sampler for this? If so then I would suggest to look for one that has at least 32Mb of RAM available. Recently I downloaded a sample set that someone made of an original Mellotron. Each sound contains 35 samples in the original length of the Mellotron tapes. Each sound is about 22.5Mb in size.

What you could also look at is the Roland JD/JV/XV series of sound modules and pair it up with Roland's Vintage Synth Expansion board. JV-1080 go for good prices these days but I recommend the JV-2080 for easier editing because of the larger screen. XV-3080/5080/5050 are also good options. These units will give you E-Piano's, Wurly's, 80's E-Piano's already 'out of the box' and Mellotron Strings/Flutes/Choirs and much more when you add the Expansion Board.

This is what I know and there might be other options out there that I am not aware of.
Thanks for the correction, my mistake :oops: Another thing to check when buying a machine, are the disks that come with it(many come with a pile of floppy's). Could be the samples you are looking for....

User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2769
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Subliminal Sea
Location: Exton/ westchester
Contact:

Re: Sampler module?

Post by ninja6485 » Wed Nov 30, 2016 1:15 pm

Hyde wrote:Another cheap option is Akai S2000. I picked up mine with maxed out memory for $100. 32mb, in fact. Thats twice what an ASR10 is capable of.
The S2000 is really an incredible sampler considering what they go for. The only drawback with it, the ESI, and the mirage is that you have no, or a very limited display. Not a huge limitation, but if you can hold out and scour the used market, a 2800xl or 3000xl (or beyond!) Could appear for a similarly low price, and give you possibly expanded functionality with a much better display.
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...

User avatar
Hyde
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:45 pm
Real name: Hyde
Gear: ASR10
EPS16
EPS
Mirage
S2000
ESI2000
SY35
SQ1+
K1000
K2000rs
Band: When Violets Turn Grey

Re: Sampler module?

Post by Hyde » Wed Nov 30, 2016 6:09 pm

ninja6485 wrote:
Hyde wrote:Another cheap option is Akai S2000. I picked up mine with maxed out memory for $100. 32mb, in fact. Thats twice what an ASR10 is capable of.
The S2000 is really an incredible sampler considering what they go for. The only drawback with it, the ESI, and the mirage is that you have no, or a very limited display. Not a huge limitation, but if you can hold out and scour the used market, a 2800xl or 3000xl (or beyond!) Could appear for a similarly low price, and give you possibly expanded functionality with a much better display.
The display is small. & it takes some time to get through the parameters, when editing. Unlike the ensoniq where everything is laid out in pretty quick commands. However, it certainly is worth the price for the memory. If you can find a 2800 or 3000 for the same price, certainly a good buy & worthy. Keep an eye on your local CL. I've had great luck there, pricewise

User avatar
tim gueguen
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:31 am
Location: the Canadian Prairies
Contact:

Re: Sampler module?

Post by tim gueguen » Thu Dec 01, 2016 12:13 am

I think it needs to be repeated that something like one of the various ROMPLERs floating around out there is probably a better choice for the OP than an actual sampler. A sampler seems like a lot of bother if it's not going to be used to actually sample stuff, and just play back Wurlie and Mellotron sounds.
Keys: Realistic Concertmate 500, Korg K25, Korg Micro X

Guits: '86 Fender Japan '50s Reissue Strat, '80 Aria Pro II TS-300 Thor Sound

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3906
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Sampler module?

Post by Ashe37 » Thu Dec 01, 2016 12:23 am

none of the romplers have a mellotron sound set the size that you can get for a sampler.

User avatar
ninja6485
Synth Explorer
Synth Explorer
Posts: 2769
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:13 pm
Gear: Virus Ti, Jx-8p, Juno 60, Radias, Maschine, 101,303,606,707,727,808,909, odyssey, mirage, akai s5K/s2K/s1k, drumtraks, E6400ult, M1R, rx5, fizmo,d50
Band: Subliminal Sea
Location: Exton/ westchester
Contact:

Re: Sampler module?

Post by ninja6485 » Thu Dec 01, 2016 4:24 pm

Emu vintage keys might have something cool, and they're probably cheap. Don't know about it's mellotron capabilities.

I guess the great thing about using a sampler is you get a lot of potential. Even if it's unused at first, maybe you might want to explore it later?
This looks like a psychotropic reaction. No wonder it's so popular...

Tacowitch
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 3:23 am
Gear: DX11, EPS 16+

Re: Sampler module?

Post by Tacowitch » Fri Dec 02, 2016 7:18 am

Baus wrote:Not want to turn this into an Ensoniq topic but.... I have yet to encounter an EPS-16 Plus unit with 4Mb of memory. It comes with 1Mb and can be expanded to 2Mb.
I've got a 4mb EPS-16 Plus (It's the turbo model).

Baus
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 1:56 pm

Re: Sampler module?

Post by Baus » Sun Dec 04, 2016 2:00 am

Is that the rack version?

How many free blocks do you have when you start up?

Post Reply