Page 1 of 1

inexpensive sampler to use as a tonebank

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 11:54 am
by Tylersongs
I'm looking for an affordable sampler to plug a midi controller in and use as a tone bank, something good for playing live, where I can switch between the different patches quickly.
Any ideas of good ones?

Re: inexpensive sampler to use as a tonebank

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 3:03 pm
by ninja6485
Akai S2000

Re: inexpensive sampler to use as a tonebank

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 3:17 pm
by gcoudert
ninja6485 wrote:Akai S2000


Yeah, I'll second that or an S5000 if you need more RAM for a larger tone bank that you load at the start of the gig once and for all. It will even take an internal SCSI HD (extra cost but well worth it) if you don't want to carry an external one around.

Re: inexpensive sampler to use as a tonebank

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 5:12 pm
by Baus
It depends what you call 'inexpensive'.

I would prefer an Akai S3000XL over the S2000. It's just a bit more and a lot easier to handle. The S2000 display is small.

The S5000 has a huge screen, it handles .wav files AND with a HD you can stream samples from HD so you don't need a huge amount of internal memory. However, it's not so expensive anymore to buy it with memory expansion.

If you look for that one try to find it with a USB board. It works great on older computers systems (like Windows XP) and AkSys to drag and drop samples to and from the S5000. You can also use AkSys to edit samples (on the S5000), to edit programs and multi's.

Re: inexpensive sampler to use as a tonebank

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 7:41 pm
by ninja6485
All excellent choices! If you can afford to go 3000xl or S5000, definitely do it!

Re: inexpensive sampler to use as a tonebank

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:10 pm
by Tylersongs
Are there any coming to mind that aren't rack mounted? Like an Akai MPX?

Re: inexpensive sampler to use as a tonebank

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:17 pm
by Ashe37
Tylersongs wrote:Are there any coming to mind that aren't rack mounted? Like an Akai MPX?


There isnt enough to an MPX to use it for that. You could get an older MPC and just load samples and presets, i guess. I expect prices on last-gen MPCs is going to drop shortly.

Also, keep in mind that using most older samplers is going to lead you into dealing with SCSI, which can get nuts very fast if you don't have any equipment for it already.

Re: inexpensive sampler to use as a tonebank

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 9:53 pm
by ninja6485
Make sure the older MPC you get can transpose samples across a keyboard, if you mean by tone bank what I think you mean. I don't know if all of them have this feature.

Also, if you're just storing individual samples that are mono, and between 200ms to 2 seconds long, you can get away with using floppies. You just think differently: instead of trying to load the whole thing, you load individual programs. Each floppy should be able to store two or 3 programs, depending on how long your samples are, how many you use to cover each octave, and whether or not you have stereo sounds. It's actually a lot of fun to work this way, and you don't have to lug around an extra storage device, but of course scsi sample storage does make loading full projects much, much easier!

What's your max buget btw? Boss has some, and the Korg micro sampler might work for what you want to do, although my understanding is it's a bit limited otherwise

Re: inexpensive sampler to use as a tonebank

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:02 pm
by Ashe37
The microsampler doesn't do multisamples.

Re: inexpensive sampler to use as a tonebank

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 3:04 pm
by ninja6485
Exactly - and up to this point we assumed we understood what you meant by tone bank. Maybe it's time to clarify: what exactly do you want your sampler to do? Is storing one sound per key/ one sample transposed across the whole keyboard good, or do you want to be able to do multi-sampling?