Page 1 of 1

Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - (resolved)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 1:56 am
by part12studios
Hi there,

I got my hands on an S2800 that a friend of mine couldn't fix and I did some research and think I have some idea of what the problem but would like some confirmed input.

The system boots up with the SCSI Card (it's an optional card, not built in).. Below is the same problem where it says

"waiting for hard disk ready skip" and hangs. No buttons work. If I remove the card the unit boots up fine.

The article below mentions a bad fuse.. but this isn't the same hardware. I'm wondering if the fuse on my card is the SF1 thing.. i've never seen a fuse look like this, but I'm not electronics expert.

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/geekslu ... blems.html

here is what the card looks like:

Image

I'd like to see if I can bring this guy back.

Thanks,
Caleb

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem (waiting for disk)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:27 am
by JeEA
That is correct that's the one
Had same problem changed the fuse, but still no luck.

Hope yours Will work. You Can check it. I do not know
if You have to take it out first. Nomally a working
fuse Will allow voltage over the fuse, so a voltmeter
and meassure resistance over the fuse should indicate 000 In the
display.

Cheers

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem (waiting for disk)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:13 pm
by part12studios
Awesome thanks JeEA for the confirmation! I am soldering iron-less at the moment but i will get one soon but I do want to test the part!

Thanks!
Caleb

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem (waiting for disk)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:06 pm
by part12studios
does anyone know what the part is? I'm not sure if that is some standard "fuse" or what to call it..

i put a multimeter on both points and no energy got through.. so it seems safe to say the fuse is bad, though more may be wrong since something made the fuse pop.

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - fuse trouble

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:41 am
by JeEA
It's a keramik fuse i Think. It's standard In an electronic store
Try to Google scsi fuse.
Cheers
Jens

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - fuse trouble

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 2:15 pm
by part12studios
Awesome thanks! I'll do that :)

Thanks!
Caleb

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - fuse trouble

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:59 pm
by sneakthief

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - fuse trouble

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 5:06 pm
by part12studios
that is superb! I'm definitely going to go that route. I'd like to future proof the unit from having to solder yet again.. of course i hope the problem isn't bigger than the fuse but i'm optimistic.

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI fuse problem - resolved

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2017 1:39 am
by part12studios
Hi everyone.

I am happy to report that the fuse was in fact the issue for mine and the unit is working. The fuse was replaced with a different but basically the same 1amp fuse. Thanks for the information!

Now to find a manual. Havin a h**l of a time figuring out how to record a sample.. worried it might have something wrong with it in that respect.. but without a manual I can't be sure

Thanks,
Caleb

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - (resolved)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:00 am
by JeEA
S2000 or 3000 manual should help.
After sampling the sounds must be mapped to the kbd.
Would have been Nice with a sampling template

Re: Akai S2800 SCSI Card problem - (resolved)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 3:46 pm
by part12studios
yes I learned that the S3000XL manual on akai's website is the closest to the S2800.. so i was able to figure out things for the most part.. but yea seems the input of my S2800 is bad.. bad digital clipping. Probably just part it out now..