Page 1 of 1

Using Japanese Synth (Yamaha CS-10) in the US

Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 4:34 pm
by rhythmking90
So, I've got a CS-10 (Japanese 100V) model that I am using in the US. I am currently using a voltage converter, a 100V to 120v and vice versa converter, so I can plug it into the wall (120V, since I am in the US).

Will it be OK to use the line output and CV/gate controls on the CS-10 with effects pedals, sequencers, and amps that are 120V? Specifically I plan to use a Korg SQ-1 and an Arturia Keystep. I guess more generally, my question is is it OK to drive a Japanese synth via CV/gate with US-market products. How does CV/gate work?

I don't know anything about electronics, so any kind of help would be truly appreciated!

Re: Using Japanese Synth (Yamaha CS-10) in the US

Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 7:01 pm
by Rasputin
rhythmking90 wrote:So, I've got a CS-10 (Japanese 100V) model that I am using in the US. I am currently using a voltage converter, a 100V to 120v and vice versa converter, so I can plug it into the wall (120V, since I am in the US).

Will it be OK to use the line output and CV/gate controls on the CS-10 with effects pedals, sequencers, and amps that are 120V? Specifically I plan to use a Korg SQ-1 and an Arturia Keystep. I guess more generally, my question is is it OK to drive a Japanese synth via CV/gate with US-market products. How does CV/gate work?

I don't know anything about electronics, so any kind of help would be truly appreciated!
All the internal voltages, as far as logic and analog boards go, end up being the same regardless of what transformer is in the PSU. The only difference is that regional models need to handle the mains AC differently, but once it leaves the power supply stage, everything operates the same.

Short answer: It's all good.

P.S. Some CS-10 models have a transformer wiring that lets you easily convert the PSU to 120V which would let you ditch the external converter. Move one wire. Could hardly be made easier. All you need is a soldering iron.

https://web.archive.org/web/20120308003 ... om/?p=1620

Re: Using Japanese Synth (Yamaha CS-10) in the US

Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 6:04 am
by belltones
Additionally, most synths made in Japan to run on Japanese 100V mains can run just fine on US 117V without any kind of adapter/converter. Occasionally there's a wire you have to move on the transformer to make sure it doesn't run too "hot", but a lot of synth companies would just make two versions, a 100/117V version and a 220/240V version, with regulator circuitry present to make sure the outputs would be the same. A good power supply design should be able to account for only a 17% change in input voltage without damage.

Re: Using Japanese Synth (Yamaha CS-10) in the US

Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 5:41 am
by DX21
http://www.synthfool.com/docs/Yamaha/CS ... Manual.pdf

Yep right there just move the wire over