Sending Sysex Files From PC To Korg Wavestation A/D

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

Sending Sysex Files From PC To Korg Wavestation A/D

Postby astradyne » Tue Jan 02, 2018 1:19 pm

Hi everyone.

Andy here, I'm a complete newbie to the world of Sysex and the Wavestation and I really could do with some assistance.

I recently bought a Wavestation A/D which I believe is loaded with the factory sounds. Available is RAM1, RAM2 and RAM3. I'm wanting to install further sounds on the unit, but to be honest I really haven't a clue...

I have installed MIDI-OX on my PC and have connected it via a data transfer lead to the Wavestation. MIDI-OX has found the Wavestation and I have made sure that I've selected the correct channel in the menu. I can load the Sysex files into MIDI-OX with no problems. When I hit "send Sysex" a transfer bar appears onscreen and the send appears to complete without issue. There is also a blue LED on the transfer cable which flashes rapidly as the file is being sent. This is as far as I have got...

The Wavestation doesn't seem to be receiving the files which are being sent to it. The red Midi Indicator on the unit isn't flashing while data is being transferred (the LED does work as it flashes when I press the keys on my keyboard). Also there is no indication in the Midi Status Channel Activity while files are being sent. The battery was changed a few months ago by the seller, so there shouldn't be any issues there.

So I'm at a complete standstill here and any advice would be warmly welcomed. A laymans guide to successfully transferring files would be a Godsend.

Sending thanks in advance.
astradyne

Re: Sending Sysex Files From PC To Korg Wavestation A/D

Postby madtheory » Tue Jan 02, 2018 1:27 pm