Recoding separate output

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

Recoding separate output

Postby Mikelundy » Fri Jan 19, 2018 4:42 pm

Hello everyone,

I have an instrument plugged with separate output to my analog mix table who is pluged to my soundcard and the soundcard to my speakers.

I sequence everything on my DAW (ableton) through the soundcard pluged in USB.

I would like to record every output separetly, but on every tracks in the daw I got one same audio stereo signal.

Did I miss something?
:?
Mikelundy
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:43 am

Re: Recoding separate output

Postby Rasputin » Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:31 pm

Like the fact that your mixer is summing all its inputs to a stereo output which is going to a stereo input on your audio interface, so the only thing you can record is a stereo signal? :-D

Maybe I'm misunderstanding you, but my point is that you need an interface with as many discrete inputs as there are discrete instrument outputs you intend to record on separate channels.
Rasputin
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 681
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:52 am

Re: Recoding separate output

Postby Mikelundy » Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:37 pm

Yes that's what I thought…
I got an Focusrite 6i6 so only 4 analogue input (2 already used by the mixer)

My mixer is a Mackie MS1202 but there are not others output than the 2 main out

Any recommandations on a new mixer and soundcard with 10 analogue input?
Mikelundy
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:43 am


Return to HELP!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests