Roland W-30 help needed

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

Roland W-30 help needed

Postby JosephGeha » Sun Apr 22, 2018 10:47 pm

I am an amateur musician spending some of my spare time playing and recording music for my own enjoyment. My setting consists of a Roland W-30 keyboard/16-track sequencer connected to Yamaha TG-500 sound unit. The W-30 is mainly used as a keyboard and sequencer playing the sounds of the TG-500 through MIDI interface.

Throughout the years I have composed many songs using the sequencer and saved them on W-30 floppy disks. Recently 2 floppies did not load and generated error and I lost many of my compositions.... (can data be recovered somehow?) I am concerned that one day the other floppy disks will fail and I will lose all my compositions. Since the W-30 does not support MIDI data dump, it is not possible to export the sequencer data to a PC or similar.

After a thorough investigation, I came to the conclusion that the only way to safeguard my compositions is to play the songs one by one on the sequencer and record them through MIDI out on a PC with MIDI recording software using a MIDI/USB interface.

Can someone advise me which MIDI software to use in order to record the sequencer data on PC using MIDI out and midi/usb interface? I want to be able to export all 16 MIDI channels and the tempo track for each song and save them in a convenient musical format for later playback or perhaps editing.

Also do you have software that can read a song MIDI data file and then display it as musical notation showing the different MIDI channels stacked?

Any help appreciated!
JosephGeha

Re: Roland W-30 help needed

Postby ShoutingAtSpiders » Thu Apr 26, 2018 4:58 pm

Hi,