Casio CZ-101 No Power

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

Casio CZ-101 No Power

Postby Aquila2 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 2:54 am

I'm new to synths but I am familiar with electronics in general but I cannot figure this out.

I recently acquired a this keyboard at a thrift store for only $10 but it will not power on, adapter or battery. I have fully dismantled it and it looks immaculate. No damaged traces, nothing blown or bloated. All the solder joints are also good. I don't have much info other than that. Any idea on where to start? I appreciate anything.
Aquila2

Re: Casio CZ-101 No Power

Postby coldwar » Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:45 pm

With Casios, I always start with the 7805 voltage regulator. Will pull my schematics in a bit and take a look for better advice, just seen a lot of them dead for no apparent reason when the rest of the circuit is fine. May want to check any diodes around the input as Casios have outside positive voltage and people notoriously try to plug in their old answering machine adapter which is generally outside negative lol. I have encountered this dozens of times. Will get back to ya with better troubleshooting info later tonight. Good score though. 10 for a CZ101 is a great price for a fun little synth :)
coldwar

Postby Aquila2 » Sat Aug 11, 2018 1:03 am

Thank you for the advice. I await your diagrams.
Aquila2

Postby coldwar » Sat Aug 11, 2018 1:34 pm

Aquila2 wrote:Thank you for the advice. I await your diagrams.

http://www.burnkit2600.com/manuals/CASI ... 00_SRV.pdf

Owners Manual
http://manuals.fdiskc.com/tree/Casio/Ca ... Manual.pdf

Check out page 4 of the owners manual where it describes inserting the batteries and the "P button" function and location.