S6000 drivers problem - how to install? help

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
feidias
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2018 10:20 am

S6000 drivers problem - how to install? help

Post by feidias » Mon Nov 26, 2018 10:24 am

Dear All

Hope you fine, i need help with my AKAI S6000 and how i can install the drivers at my windows 7 64bit with Windows XP mode/Virtual Machine?
The AK sys 2.53 is working fine with the 2 folders installed at program files folder
but windows cannot recognize-see the AKAI so the software is empty..
At the device manager
Windows 7 64 bit: Show me unrecognized device
At Windows Xp Mode: Cannot find even the "unknown device"
Can you please help if i am doing something wrong?

At my friend's who sold me the machine is working fine on Windows 32bit

Thank you in advance!

User avatar
Tekhed66
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:59 am
Gear: Roland JD990
Roland JD800
Roland XV5080
Roland SH01A
Behringer DM12
Yamaha An1x
Studiologic Sledge 2
Korg Triton Rack
Korg M1
Korg Radias
Akai s5000
Band: The Creepy Uncles
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: S6000 drivers problem - how to install? help

Post by Tekhed66 » Tue Nov 27, 2018 12:38 am

You might be having trouble with running it under virtual XP...

I used to have an Akai 3200XL and tried to run MESA under a virtual XP setup as MESA wouldn't run under Win7 64bit. I could get the scsi driver to load under Win7 (so that it would see the sampler) but when I switched to virtual XP, the Akai scsi driver wasn't recognised/loaded in the virtual environment but MESA worked fine.

The problem with old gear is that it just gets left behind so quickly... I sold that sampler ages ago and now use an Akai s5000 but I also bought an old (genuine) Win XP desktop computer for $25 and run Ak.sys and other old software on that... old computer, old software and old equipment... everything talks to each other happily.

Sorry I can't be of more help but if you do figure out how to work around the virtual XP problem, please let us know.

Post Reply