Page 1 of 1

akai mpc5000 error

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:31 pm
by mm1
bought an mpc5000 recently & when I first turned it on I was greeted with an error message reading "audio sync error" there isn't much online on how to troubleshoot this problem, also qlink 10 doesn't seem to turn past 3 o'clock when it's supposed to go further.

Re: akai mpc5000 error

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:44 pm
by Rasputin
I'm not an MPC5000 expert, nor even an owner, so I'm going out on a limb a bit with this, but..

My understanding is that the MPC5000 is essentially a variant of the Alesis Fusion, and I do know that the Fusion CPU talks to various sub-systems (with FPGA chips) over serial communication lines.

Therefore, my hunch is that "audio sync failed" happens when a serial comm line fails between the mainboard and an audio processing daughtercard. As such, I would recommend taking apart the MPC5K and reseating and cleaning (if possible) all ribbon cables and other connectors between the mainboard and other cards, especially any which have a FPGA on them.

The service manual for the Akai MPC5000 is available, but it is not a troubleshooting guide. It's almost entirely schematics, but it does provide a "tear down" guide which may be useful to you.

Re: akai mpc5000 error

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 7:52 am
by mm1
right, so I went under the hood & cleaned everything out like you said, still got the error message. also turns out the qlink is soldered directly to the board & has nothing for me to change adjust the position on it

Re: akai mpc5000 error

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 7:24 pm
by Rasputin
mm1 wrote:right, so I went under the hood & cleaned everything out like you said, still got the error message. also turns out the qlink is soldered directly to the board & has nothing for me to change adjust the position on it


Hope you only paid an "AS IS" price for it, or can get a refund.

I think you've inherited a parts machine.

Re: akai mpc5000 error

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 11:45 am
by mm1
Great news everyone, I gave the mpc another clean & it works now, now my problem is getting qlink 10 to turn properly