Setting up synth

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
inuse_
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 7:31 pm

Setting up synth

Post by inuse_ » Thu Feb 14, 2019 7:39 pm

Hey, ameteur question. I own a korg ds 8, what do I need to connect it to ableton?

User avatar
tim gueguen
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 795
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:31 am
Location: the Canadian Prairies
Contact:

Re: Setting up synth

Post by tim gueguen » Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:36 pm

You'll need some sort of audio interface to record the sounds. To send and receive MIDI data you'll need a MIDI interface. Some audio interfaces also have MIDI connections.
Keys: Realistic Concertmate 500, Korg K25, Korg Micro X

Guits: '86 Fender Japan '50s Reissue Strat, '80 Aria Pro II TS-300 Thor Sound

inuse_
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 7:31 pm

Re: Setting up synth

Post by inuse_ » Fri Feb 15, 2019 12:03 pm

tim gueguen wrote:You'll need some sort of audio interface to record the sounds. To send and receive MIDI data you'll need a MIDI interface. Some audio interfaces also have MIDI connections.

Any recommendations under £70?

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5178
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Setting up synth

Post by madtheory » Fri Feb 15, 2019 8:26 pm

What computer do you have?

inuse_
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 7:31 pm

Re: Setting up synth

Post by inuse_ » Fri Feb 15, 2019 9:33 pm

madtheory wrote:What computer do you have?
MacBook Pro mid 2010

User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 5178
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, Thermostat, Buck Owens' Moog.
Band: Minim
Location: Cork, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Setting up synth

Post by madtheory » Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:34 pm

Getting audio in and out of that with the built in port is a pain in the a*s as it cannot do both at the same time because it is a combo port.

Spend a little more than £70 and treat yourself to a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2. Has MIDI ports and really good audio in and out.

Post Reply