Setting up synth

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.

Setting up synth

Postby inuse_ » Thu Feb 14, 2019 7:39 pm

Hey, ameteur question. I own a korg ds 8, what do I need to connect it to ableton?
inuse_
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 7:31 pm

Re: Setting up synth

Postby tim gueguen » Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:36 pm

You'll need some sort of audio interface to record the sounds. To send and receive MIDI data you'll need a MIDI interface. Some audio interfaces also have MIDI connections.
Keys: Realistic Concertmate 500, Korg K25, Korg Micro X

Guits: '86 Fender Japan '50s Reissue Strat, '80 Aria Pro II TS-300 Thor Sound
User avatar
tim gueguen
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:31 am
Location: the Canadian Prairies

Re: Setting up synth

Postby inuse_ » Fri Feb 15, 2019 12:03 pm

tim gueguen wrote:You'll need some sort of audio interface to record the sounds. To send and receive MIDI data you'll need a MIDI interface. Some audio interfaces also have MIDI connections.



Any recommendations under £70?
inuse_
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 7:31 pm

Re: Setting up synth

Postby madtheory » Fri Feb 15, 2019 8:26 pm

What computer do you have?
User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 5098
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Location: Cork, Ireland
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Cabaret Voltaire, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, thermostat, Buck Owens Moog.
Band: Minim

Re: Setting up synth

Postby inuse_ » Fri Feb 15, 2019 9:33 pm

madtheory wrote:What computer do you have?


MacBook Pro mid 2010
inuse_
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 7:31 pm

Re: Setting up synth

Postby madtheory » Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:34 pm

Getting audio in and out of that with the built in port is a pain in the a*s as it cannot do both at the same time because it is a combo port.

Spend a little more than £70 and treat yourself to a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2. Has MIDI ports and really good audio in and out.
User avatar
madtheory
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
 
Posts: 5098
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:45 pm
Location: Cork, Ireland
Real name: Tomas Mulcahy
Gear: Flangebeast Mk1, Plonkotron, Morovdis Arpeggiator, Maplin My First EQ, Cabaret Voltaire, Jeff Wayne Thunderchild rack, thermostat, Buck Owens Moog.
Band: Minim


Return to HELP!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests