Page 1 of 1

Akai AX80 Membranes not Working

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:38 pm
by jayroebuck
I just purchased an Akai AX80 for $50 from someone who had no idea what it was. It is in good condition except that half of the membrane button do not respond. I know that there is an issue with the solder coming undone on these due to movement, so I opened it up and everything looked remarkably good.
I then hooked up the AX to my Mac through Midi and was able to access every sound that way, so I know that the EPROMS are all working. It looks like it is just the membrane buttons 8 - 32.

Thank for any help.

Re: Akai AX80 Membranes not Working

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:50 pm
by Rasputin
jayroebuck wrote:I just purchased an Akai AX80 for $50 from someone who had no idea what it was. It is in good condition except that half of the membrane button do not respond. I know that there is an issue with the solder coming undone on these due to movement, so I opened it up and everything looked remarkably good.
I then hooked up the AX to my Mac through Midi and was able to access every sound that way, so I know that the EPROMS are all working. It looks like it is just the membrane buttons 8 - 32.
1) OMG... Incredible deal. Congratulations!

2) This is a super common problem. Don't trust your visual inspection. Desolder the membrane panel "joiner" pins and replace with flexible wire. Problem solved.

3) Replace the factory EPROM with the Tauntek EPROM. Doesn't have anything to do with the membrane buttons, but you should do it anyway, before you get the AX80 all buttoned up again.

Re: Akai AX80 Membranes not Working

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 8:14 pm
by jayroebuck
Thank you! I don't trust my shaky hands enough to do the soldering myself. One or two wires would be fine but this is a lot. I will order the EPROM. I read that it adds SYSEX for all parameters. I would be nice to be able to draw Freq Cutoff in my DAW.

Cheers!

Re: Akai AX80 Membranes not Working

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 11:59 am
by Hyde
Rasputin probably knows best. Just as an added fyi, I just fixed both of my Mirage keyboards by disassembling the the keyboard assy, cleaning throughly & reassembling. The mechanical parts of these older machines can create their own issues, if they go unused for a length of time.