Page 1 of 1

sysex checksum error - Korg WS

Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2020 5:17 pm
by philip
Hi

I'm having a hard time here, trying to send sysex to my WS EX. I'm using MIDIOX, buffer/number-set to 64/2
Using PC WIN7 and Steinberg Midex

Every time I send sysex, I have the sysex checksum error on my WS. Hence - only a half of the bank is loaded

How to fix this?

Re: sysex checksum error - Korg WS

Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2020 5:55 pm
by desmond
Try slowing the transmission down. Also try having pauses between each bank chunk (eg send the Performance bank, wait, then send the Patch bank, wait, then send the Wave Sequence bank etc.).

Re: sysex checksum error - Korg WS

Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2020 7:03 pm
by philip
desmond wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 5:55 pm
Try slowing the transmission down. Also try having pauses between each bank chunk (eg send the Performance bank, wait, then send the Patch bank, wait, then send the Wave Sequence bank etc.).
1)How to slow the transmission down?
2)Am I missing smth? I have one syx file, which contains usually on RAM bank!? load in MIDIoX - send to WS
How to make these pauses?

Re: sysex checksum error - Korg WS

Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2020 12:42 am
by desmond
Yes, one ram bank contains three dumps - eg for Ram1, there will be a dump for Ram1 Performances, one for Ram1 Patches, and Ram1 Wave sequences.

Re: sysex checksum error - Korg WS

Posted: Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:53 am
by Mesmerised
Yep, go slow. I don't know MidiOX but in some tools you can slow down the transmission speed. (I use Sysex Librarian)
I remember having lots of problems with that (even completely crashing my WS just before the gig! :o ) until I updated the WS to FW 3.19.