Roland U20 MIDI not working

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
Post Reply
eirianwhopkins
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 3:40 pm

Roland U20 MIDI not working

Post by eirianwhopkins » Tue Jul 07, 2020 4:00 pm

Hi. Recently bought a Roland U20 in need of some TLC. Fixed keys, replaced battery and managed to reload factory patches over MIDI.
However, since then I have been unable to send or receive MIDI data via my audio interface to my DAW (Reaper).
Tried following the instructions in the manual to set the various options for MIDI on the U20 but nothing comes up in the DAW and then the Asio driver crashes and I have to restart the computer.
If anyone has any ideas for a solution I would be very greatful as the U20 was bought to use as a MIDI controller.

Ashe37
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3876
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:43 pm
Real name: Unpronounceable
Gear: Ensoniq SD-1/32,SQR,VFX,ESQm
Virus Indigo, M3-61 , MS2000BR, Volca Bass
Emu XL-7, Matrix 6r
TG-33, K3m, Blofeld, Micron, Mopho, BS II, JV-1080
Band: Eridani V
Location: Central VA

Re: Roland U20 MIDI not working

Post by Ashe37 » Tue Jul 07, 2020 8:40 pm

You have both audio and midi cables connected, right?

User avatar
Yekuku
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:29 am
Gear: dk'tronics speech synthesizer :P
Location: Greece

Re: Roland U20 MIDI not working

Post by Yekuku » Tue Jul 07, 2020 10:19 pm

eirianwhopkins wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 4:00 pm
Recently bought a Roland U20 in need of some TLC. Fixed keys...
When you fixed the keys , could it be that you disconnected accidentally the ribbon extension on the left side?
This connection is not meant to be disconnected, it is held by conductive adhesive tape that is not reusable.
It is all about sharing...

User avatar
meatballfulton
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5939
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 9:29 pm
Gear: Logic Pro X

Re: Roland U20 MIDI not working

Post by meatballfulton » Wed Jul 08, 2020 12:11 am

If you got the patches into the unit, then at least the MIDI from computer to U20 is working. If it's not responding to MIDI notes from the computer, start by looking at all the channel settings (again). The patch load is not channelized and it got through.

See page 149 of the manual about the MIDI monitor function.
Screen Shot 2020-07-07 at 7.19.20 PM.png
I listened to Hatfield and the North at Rainbow. They were very wonderful and they made my heart a prisoner.

eirianwhopkins
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 3:40 pm

Re: Roland U20 MIDI not working

Post by eirianwhopkins » Wed Jul 08, 2020 12:10 pm

Was thinking it was maybe the audio interface but manage to get that working with a different device.

Seems to be working better now but still have intermittent issues.

Will keep trying. Thank you all for your input.

eirianwhopkins
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 3:40 pm

Re: Roland U20 MIDI not working

Post by eirianwhopkins » Fri Jul 10, 2020 1:10 pm

Hi guys. I believe that the problem was that the audio interface (M-audio Fast Track Pro) was not working properly when sending midi data to Windows 10. Driver issue apparently! I'm trying a basic interface lead now and so far everything sounds ok.

Post Reply