roland mc-300 sequencer a BLACK HOLE of support

Pulling out your hair? Don't know what to do or where to go? Ask in here.
Forum rules
READ: VSE Board-Wide Rules and Guidelines

If your Help request has been solved, please edit your first post in order to select the Image Topic Icon to let others know your topic has been solved.
User avatar
putzgummycymbal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:14 pm
Location: madison wisconSIN
Contact:

roland mc-300 sequencer a BLACK HOLE of support

Post by putzgummycymbal » Sat Nov 04, 2006 4:56 am

I picked this up on ebay thinking it looked real clean and would work fine for sequencing a few machines. However the internet seems to be full of nothing but other confused people, and links to roland websites that no longer exist. does anybody have any information on how to operate?
do you want to kiss me jim? yes I do! Simply tear into the sun.

you got it www.myspace.com/pierceaugust

User avatar
Maschinengeist
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:42 pm
Real name: Steph. J
Gear: Multimeter
Frequency Counter
Oscilloscope
Signal Generator
Logic Probe
and more stuff
Band: Cybernetik
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Post by Maschinengeist » Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:15 am

You can buy the manual from there: http://home.wanadoo.nl/syntigroep/man/manualsr.htm

I think Manual Manor has it too: http://www.markglinsky.com/ManualManor.html (I bought plenty from Mark: no problem to have there).
-------------------------------------------------------------------
MuzikElektronix.com
Music electronics repair & More
Help? See TechZone
Parts? email!
Service Manuals?+/-2000 documents!
Sorry, they aren't free
Now on FACEBOOK: "Muzik Elektronix"

User avatar
putzgummycymbal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:14 pm
Location: madison wisconSIN
Contact:

Post by putzgummycymbal » Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:38 am

isn't there any information online about even getting the thing to record a sequence with out messing with disks?
do you want to kiss me jim? yes I do! Simply tear into the sun.

you got it www.myspace.com/pierceaugust

User avatar
Altitude
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Michigan

Post by Altitude » Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:53 am

isn't there any information online about even getting the thing to record a sequence with out messing with disks?
No, it will not work without the system disk.

Read the reviews at SS for some good tips and links to the system disk images: http://www.sonicstate.com/synth/roland_mc-300.cfm

You can get parts/disks/drives here: http://www.route66studios.com/

Being an older device, it probably has the ID0 type floppy, if you can find an older 3.5 drive, it may have a jumper to change from ID1 (the normal setting for PC's) to ID0. I did this successfully for my Prophet 2k2 sampler
You can buy the manual from there: http://home.wanadoo.nl/syntigroep/man/manualsr.htm

I think Manual Manor has it too: http://www.markglinsky.com/ManualManor.html (I bought plenty from Mark: no problem to have there).
Or you can DL every roland manual ever made for free from Roland themselves (same goes for Yamaha): http://www.rolandus.com/mojo/manuals.aspx

User avatar
Maschinengeist
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:42 pm
Real name: Steph. J
Gear: Multimeter
Frequency Counter
Oscilloscope
Signal Generator
Logic Probe
and more stuff
Band: Cybernetik
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Post by Maschinengeist » Sat Nov 04, 2006 6:02 am

Altitude wrote:Or you can DL every roland manual ever made for free from Roland themselves (same goes for Yamaha): http://www.rolandus.com/mojo/manuals.aspx
have you actually checked RolandUS manual archives? They only have the Application Guide, no owner's manual for the MC-300
-------------------------------------------------------------------
MuzikElektronix.com
Music electronics repair & More
Help? See TechZone
Parts? email!
Service Manuals?+/-2000 documents!
Sorry, they aren't free
Now on FACEBOOK: "Muzik Elektronix"

User avatar
Altitude
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Michigan

Post by Altitude » Sat Nov 04, 2006 6:11 am

You want the MRC-300 manual which is the OS for the MC-300, there is no actual MC-300 OM AFAIK

User avatar
putzgummycymbal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:14 pm
Location: madison wisconSIN
Contact:

Post by putzgummycymbal » Sat Nov 04, 2006 7:55 pm

Altitude wrote:
isn't there any information online about even getting the thing to record a sequence with out messing with disks?
No, it will not work without the system disk.

Read the reviews at SS for some good tips and links to the system disk images: http://www.sonicstate.com/synth/roland_mc-300.cfm

You can get parts/disks/drives here: http://www.route66studios.com/

Being an older device, it probably has the ID0 type floppy, if you can find an older 3.5 drive, it may have a jumper to change from ID1 (the normal setting for PC's) to ID0. I did this successfully for my Prophet 2k2 sampler
You can buy the manual from there: http://home.wanadoo.nl/syntigroep/man/manualsr.htm

I think Manual Manor has it too: http://www.markglinsky.com/ManualManor.html (I bought plenty from Mark: no problem to have there).
Or you can DL every roland manual ever made for free from Roland themselves (same goes for Yamaha): http://www.rolandus.com/mojo/manuals.aspx

Alright , I'm glad you guys are trying to help here, but it's a bit generic. I've already checked out each of every link you've provided, because well I already thoroughly google hunted this b***h. And the only positive leads, is one very shady looking manual ordering websites, oh, and wait, only one actually lists it. i have a system disk, I'm trying to initialize floppies, and get this thing to do anything, and I'm stuck. does anybody know how to run this puppy?
do you want to kiss me jim? yes I do! Simply tear into the sun.

you got it www.myspace.com/pierceaugust

User avatar
putzgummycymbal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:14 pm
Location: madison wisconSIN
Contact:

Post by putzgummycymbal » Sat Nov 04, 2006 8:00 pm

okay quick update. I've checked sonic state, harmony central, manual manor, route 66, oh , and definitely roland themselves. And my only way out appears now to send 60 dollars cash CASH to the Netherlands NETHERLANDS to purchase the manual. I'm experiencing f**k rabbit hole syndrome here.
do you want to kiss me jim? yes I do! Simply tear into the sun.

you got it www.myspace.com/pierceaugust

User avatar
Altitude
Expert Member
Expert Member
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: Michigan

Post by Altitude » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:24 am

kay quick update. I've checked sonic state, harmony central, manual manor, route 66, oh , and definitely roland themselves. And my only way out appears now to send 60 dollars cash CASH to the Netherlands NETHERLANDS to purchase the manual. I'm experiencing f**k rabbit hole syndrome here.
Ok, I dont understand what the problem is.

step a: Download the MRC-300 manual from rolandus. u need to register on the roland site for access. This manual contains the Basic user manual and the advanced manual which has everything u need

step b: start the MC , it will ask for the system disk, insert said disk, after its done it will sat: MRC-300 version x, copyright roland and off you go

All the basic functions are covered in the first 2 pages of the manual

User avatar
portland
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 10:33 pm
Real name: Zakarias
Gear: Elektron Machinedrum UW+, GEM S2, Roland S-760, Korg SDD-3300, Kawai Q-80, Yamaha TG-77, Yamaha 01x, Adam A7s, Logic Studio, Reaktor 5
Band: Romeo Alfa
Location: The Mind Dimension
Contact:

Post by portland » Sun Nov 05, 2006 3:41 am

Altitude wrote:
kay quick update. I've checked sonic state, harmony central, manual manor, route 66, oh , and definitely roland themselves. And my only way out appears now to send 60 dollars cash CASH to the Netherlands NETHERLANDS to purchase the manual. I'm experiencing f**k rabbit hole syndrome here.
Ok, I dont understand what the problem is.

step a: Download the MRC-300 manual from rolandus. u need to register on the roland site for access. This manual contains the Basic user manual and the advanced manual which has everything u need

step b: start the MC , it will ask for the system disk, insert said disk, after its done it will sat: MRC-300 version x, copyright roland and off you go

All the basic functions are covered in the first 2 pages of the manual
Any mention of the Netherlands THE NETHERLANDS just sets him off I guess.

User avatar
Stab Frenzy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9723
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm
Gear: Eurorack, RYTM, Ultranova, many FX
Location: monster island*
Contact:

Post by Stab Frenzy » Sun Nov 05, 2006 4:51 am

Help forum helps those who help themselves. :idea:

Wiglaf
Active Member
Active Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 4:06 am
Real name: Tyler
Gear: I don't even remember half of it
Band: width full
Location: Michigan, U.S...but not Detroit

Post by Wiglaf » Sun Nov 05, 2006 8:08 am

Not the NETHERLANDS!
"I thought all you did was push a button and sounds came out!" - Mom on synths
"Not quite, Mom." - Me on synths

User avatar
putzgummycymbal
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 9:14 pm
Location: madison wisconSIN
Contact:

Post by putzgummycymbal » Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:02 am

goodness gracious boys. But you don't do your research, watch, I'll go register with roland and they won't have it. and then I'll go turn on the sequencer, and load it up, and press all the buttons, and have nothing happen.
do you want to kiss me jim? yes I do! Simply tear into the sun.

you got it www.myspace.com/pierceaugust

User avatar
Vxster
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 7:20 pm
Location: Luton, UK

Post by Vxster » Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:18 am

putzgummycymbal wrote:goodness gracious boys. But you don't do your research, watch, I'll go register with roland and they won't have it. and then I'll go turn on the sequencer, and load it up, and press all the buttons, and have nothing happen.
Yes, they have done their research. The Roland MRC-300 manual is on Roland's site. I would email it to you but if you can't be bothered to register, and then berate people that tell you exactly what to do then I can't be bothered either.

User avatar
Maschinengeist
Supporting Member!
Supporting Member!
Posts: 1448
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:42 pm
Real name: Steph. J
Gear: Multimeter
Frequency Counter
Oscilloscope
Signal Generator
Logic Probe
and more stuff
Band: Cybernetik
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Post by Maschinengeist » Sun Nov 05, 2006 2:03 pm

putzgummycymbal, don't be surprised if people don't rush to help you out in the future. We are genuinely trying to help you out. And your attitude is rather a turn down.

Why don't you just do you own researches since you are so know-it-all? And before buying anything vintage off ebay, make sure you can actually use it.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
MuzikElektronix.com
Music electronics repair & More
Help? See TechZone
Parts? email!
Service Manuals?+/-2000 documents!
Sorry, they aren't free
Now on FACEBOOK: "Muzik Elektronix"

Post Reply